We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bland, and doesn't seem very Thai” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ruen Thai

Ruen Thai
Kazmairstrasse 58, 80339 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
089 / 50 32 39
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #436 of 2,815 Restaurants in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, Asian, Thai
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
oklahoma city
Top Contributor
289 reviews 289 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
“Bland, and doesn't seem very Thai”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

The place is nicely decorated, and the staff are friendly, but that's about all it has going for it.

Maybe I don't know what authentic thai is, but this didn't seem like any Thai I've ever had. The menu didn't even offer the same kind of Thai food that I've ever had. Either way, the noodles I had were bland (9€).

The lunch menu comes with either soup or fried wontons. I went for the soup because it was cold out. It was alright, but before it came, a different waiter mistakenly brought the fried wontons to me, and they looked good.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    18
    6
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“not real authentic thai food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

go to this thai restaurant, but the food I eat was more like indonesian food not thai food, I know how thai food taste because stay in thailand many years. This is not thai food! nd super expensive!

  • Visited June 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Overrated and overpriced”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2011

We've spent ages trying to find a decent authentic Thai restaurant in Munich, and after eating here our search will go on. The standard was very poor - none of the real tastes of authentic Thai food, it was obviously "toned down" for European tastes, ie made bland. Definitely not worth the money.

  • Visited February 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, HI
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Great Thai Food and friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2010

Had a yummy dinner here. Small, cozy place with a nice romantic atmosphere. Very attentive and friendly staff who spoke English in addition to German. Good menu variety, large portions, and pretty authentic for Thai food in the middle of Bavaria!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“One of the best Thai restaurants in Munich”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2009

Great food. I like spicy so ordered "Thai spicy" - ouch GREAT FOOD

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruen Thai also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Ruen Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ruen Thai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.