We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Busy, but Good Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ratskeller

Ratskeller
Marienplatz 8, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
+49 892199890
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #106 of 2,803 Restaurants in Munich
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $22 - $45
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Large groups, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Defeinitely worth a visit, particularlyduring the wine festival. Wine is kept in the vaulted cellars. The light is kept out by the great arches. A gargoyle watches over the guests. In the rustic and snug ambiance, you can opt for a choice of axes from the Middle Ages, and a gallery of the Franconian wine kings. The team makes a conscious effort in their red aprons. This place is for the 40+ crowd who party like they are young again. The Baden and Franconian wine choices will not disappoint you.
Louisville, Kentucky
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Very Busy, but Good Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Our tour group dined here one evening during our stay in Munich. Since we only had two choices from a pre-set menu, I can't really review the regular menu choices. The serving staff was good, but could not be overly attentive due to the size of the crowd that evening. I did enjoy my pig knuckle selection, however.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,519 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    567
    684
    185
    55
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“my last dinner in Munich”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

we found this by chance before going to airport. we saw a menu and went downstair, a waiter was about to ask us to go make registration in reception. Yet, a waitress was so nice to settle us, we ordered salad, Salmon Filet, Rid eye. A hot pan placed under the Risotto and Rid eye to keep them warm! When we went to bathroom and found that it is a big restaurant and with a lot of people waiting for the seats~
well, we were lucky to meet that waitress otherwise we cannot wait for so long~

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Central Location, Average Meal, poor service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

We had the cheaper of the lunchtime fixed price meal, 3 courses and a drink or aperitif, 2 courses and a drink. We opted for the later: a small glass of sekt, a coffee cup of soup (tasty but v. small portion) and portion of fried onion, potato and salsify (we finally identified this as we had never heard of it before) topped with a fried egg. The soup cup was whisked away with indecent haste and the main brought very quickly after. We had to remind the waiter about the included beer and had almost finished our main before it arrived.
This wasn't the great value fixed price lunch menu we have experienced on our travels in Germany before; it wasn't particularly expensive but the portion size was small so not great value. It was overall the most disappointing meal and worst service we had on our 3 day visit to the Munich Christmas markets

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Great setting and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

Underneath the Rathaus in central Munich is a gem. Its a great bierkeller, vaulted ceilings, painted with scenic pictures. Food is very traditional, as is the decor, & the outfits. Great fun. Food is good, though could be improved. Value for money though. Good for families.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good Bavarian restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Cellar restaurant. Situated in an inner courtyard, somewhat difficult to find. Bavarian cuisine, fast and excellent service. Table reservation recommended.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ratskeller also viewed

 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Ratskeller? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ratskeller, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.