We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food and Wine in Fantastic Atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ratskeller

Ratskeller
Marienplatz 8, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
+49 892199890
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #79 of 2,686 restaurants in Munich
Price range: $27 - $54
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Defeinitely worth a visit, particularlyduring the wine festival. Wine is kept in the vaulted cellars. The light is kept out by the great arches. A gargoyle watches over the guests. In the rustic and snug ambiance, you can opt for a choice of axes from the Middle Ages, and a gallery of the Franconian wine kings. The team makes a conscious effort in their red aprons. This place is for the 40+ crowd who party like they are young again. The Baden and Franconian wine choices will not disappoint you.
Bromsgrove
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Food and Wine in Fantastic Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

I pre-booked a table on a friday evening. Just as well because we walked past a long queue of locals who had not booked.
Excellent service. Great food and wine in a busy, friendly restaurant - and the atmosphere was wonderful.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

913 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    337
    414
    105
    42
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“Perfect in a Pinch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

We had a bit of a false start on our first night in Munich and wound up here because when in doubt, we find that a Ratskeller (the restaurant in the vaults under a town hall) is always reliable, even if not a culinary find. We had intended to eat at the Trip Advisor-touted Zwickl but they got our reservation wrong and had us for one night too early; thus, there was no place for us. This was probably a good thing because Zwickl is a small, crowded bar with a menu, not really what we had expected based on the TA reviews. We went to another well-reviewed nearby eatery, Zum Alten Markt, where a sign on the door unceremoniously informed us that the restaurant was full (and suggesting we don't even open the door to the cold night air). We immediately fell back on Plan C - the Ratskeller.

While not a culinary star, the Ratskeller did deliver just what we expected on a cold night. The food was hearty and the portions were exceedingly generous. The service was friendly but not brusque. The atmosphere was lively but not boisterous. The beer was good, the price was more than reasonable, and the ambience was a throw back to earlier times (in a good way), since the restaurant probably has not changed much over generations. It was really just fine for the situation and we were very happy that everything worked out as it had that first evening.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Absolutely super!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

The Ratskeller is located in cellars under the Rathaus in Marienplatz, Munich. We visited at about 19.00hr on a weekday evening. It was very busy and we had made no reservation, choosing to be spontaneous in our choice of a central Munich restaurant. Nonetheless we waited for less than 2 minutes before a table for our group of 5 was found. The cellars are splendidly decorated in the Gothic style typical of the rest of the Rathaus. (Its worth looking around inside the Rathaus during the daytime - its a working neo-Gothic masterpiece!) We all chose different meals from the varied Bavarian menu. An English version of the menu is available. Everyone was delighted with their meal - hot, tasty and sufficient. We paid 82 Euro for 5 meals plus various drinks - beer mainly! There was no rush and we enjoyed a pleasant evening at the Ratkeller. Overall, staff were friendly and helpful and the meals were good value and quality. Excellent!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good Germany Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Ratskeller was recommended by my hotel concierge. It is a very big restaurant. I had a very good lunch here. Wonderful German salad and goulash with a nice Cote du Rhone. The service was good and moderately priced. I would definitely try again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naxxar, Malta
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant in a beautiful location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Ratskeller was recommended to me by a local. It is a very large restaurant with so much character. Make sure you have your camera with you. The food is absolutely delicious and traditional.

If there is only one restaurant you will go to, make sure it is this one !

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ratskeller also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Ratskeller? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ratskeller, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.