We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Chinese for Germany” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kam Yi

Kam Yi
Rosenheimer Str. 32, Munich, Bavaria, Germany
089-4481366
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #766 of 2,690 restaurants in Munich
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Woking, Surrey
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Good Chinese for Germany”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Kam Yi is almost directly opposite the Hilton Munich City and the Concert Hall. When I visited there were plenty of Asian diners - whether local or visitors, I could not say - which always speaks well of an ethnic restaurant.
From a British point of view, the condiments on the table (soy sauce, chilli sauce, rice vinegar, etc.) are quite necessary, since the food is obviously aimed at the German populace and a little bland. However, it is impossible to criticise the service (exemplary) or the pricing (less than 25EUR for 2 courses, 2 beers and a digestif)!
Recommended as an escape from your hotel (there is a Holiday Inn also close by) or post-philharmonica evening!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

60% Recommend
    16
    16
    13
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Very nice, real Chinese, enough quantity, fair pricing. Located opposite to Hilton City Hotel it is easy to approach also by Metro. I have been there several times and I must say it was always same quality

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton Uk
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Great Chinese food at reasonable prices.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

This wasn't our first choice of restaurant due to the variable reviews here, but our first choice was full so we took a chance and were glad we did.

There is an extensive menu that could get a bit pricey if you don't watch out, but we decided to have the meal for four at €20 a head, so I can't comment on the more adventurous menu options. The food was lovely, certainly among the better Chinese restaurants I have eaten at. The quality of ingredients was good and we were stuffed full by the end.

If I had any criticism, it would be that the food comes a bit quickly, not giving you time to finish the previous course, but I would happily eat here again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“OK Chinese food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Good menu selection, cooking about 6/10 (to an ethnic Chinese). Ambiance is decent- good for families or business. Service is good and responsive.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Solid Chinese restaurant in a good Munich location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I get the mixed reviews about this restaurant. I think we were lucky with when we visited & the choices from the menu. We tried a couple of different dim sum starters, followed by chicken & duck mains. I must say the food was both hot & tasty and more than enough (we couldn't finish the meal, the mains being very generous). Service was a bit hit-&-miss, but all-in-all was a reasonable experience. Would I visit again? - probably, but first I think I'll check-out some other options in Munich for this (Chinese) style of food first.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kam Yi also viewed

 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Kam Yi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kam Yi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.