We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Average Restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kam Yi

Kam Yi
Rosenheimer Str. 32, Munich, Bavaria, Germany
089-4481366
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,195 of 2,888 Restaurants in Munich
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
WGC - Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
104 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Good Average Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Fourth night in Munich we did not want to walk far, conveniently opposite our hotel the Hilton. The restaurant is not easy to view from the outside due to the opaque windows, but this makes it secluded once inside.
This is a large restaurant which was more than half full for a Saturday night with a number of Chinese people eating in there – always a good sign. The menu is pretty extensive with many dishes that you would not normally see on a standard Chinese restaurant menu.
Our starters came with a big gap between them. Whilst this is unusual in other restaurants, for anyone that has eaten in China this is standard. The mains did however arrive together and the whole meal and evening was very pleasant. Service is good and its great value for money.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    25
    18
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich
Level Contributor
66 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Nothing Special”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Pros:
- they're open until fairly late
- large selection of seemingly authentic Chinese food
- service was fine

Cons:
- we had:
- sizzling lamb or something on a hot plate: tasted just like the food in all the other Asian restaurants in Germany, maybe with a little bit of variation in the ingredients, but the same sauce (i.e. same taste!)
- wanton noodle soup was very bland
- tofu pot thing: again just tasted like they used the same sauce as all the other places
- price wasn't so cheap, more than 10 EUR for a bland noodle soup is a bit much I thought

All in all, nothing special, I'm sure there are better places to eat at in Munich. I don't recommend this place.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Level Contributor
55 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great dim sums!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

I've been there many times both on business and with the family and i was never disappointed. Dim Sums are really superb. Chinese fondue is great too. Staff is welcoming and efficient. There is a lot of room in this restaurant, so it is no problem to book large tables. Strongly recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Excellent food, they are very very friendly! We were visited 3 times.
Nice Silvester on that restaurant!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Variety but found it average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

The dishes we order either to salty or sour didn't try others dishes.
They having Eng Menu and serve Lunch set menu as well

The restaurant just outside the Rosenheimer Metro station.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kam Yi also viewed

 

Been to Kam Yi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kam Yi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.