We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Bavarian experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jodlerwirt

Jodlerwirt
Altenhofstr. 4, Munich, Bavaria, Germany
089-221249
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,402 of 2,794 Restaurants in Munich
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Brilliant Bavarian experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

This is a little known, well hidden, Bavarian gem. We went for dinner with some of our friends and what an experience. Firstly, this place is very unassuming and difficult to find. You have to go up the steps and through a few small doors, (which you almost expect to be locked), just keep following the music. When you inside, your immediate reaction will be, this place is small. It might also be very intimidating at first as this place doesn't have a lot of tourists. Don't worry, the staff is friendly. The food is absolutely brilliant and very large portions. They also had somebody playing accordion and singing German songs. Loud but festive, don't hesitate to visit.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    5
    1
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
sc
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Couldn't have had more fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We arrived late in munich our first night and realized everywhere was closing. I asked a local where we could grab a beer and he suggested this place. We ended up going back every night and had a blast each time. Seems to be a gem that the tourists have not yet found.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW ORLEANS
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A 5+ experience in Munich!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Sure, grab a beer at Hofbrauhaus to say you did...then go here. Head upstairs, grab a seat if one's available, and enjoy! Great beer and wine, and awesome food. They don't speak a lot of English (thank God!) but they take care of you. Live accordian player, we sang 'Sweet Caroline' with 50 happy Germans and then joined them in a Congo line through this tiny place. Loved it!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
München
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great pub with Music”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

this is a lively place on a Friday and Saturday night, with a guy in a corner playing the accordion. The place is small enough (make sure you go upstairs) so you need to hit it around 10-11pm before it gets too busy.

one negative is that they only sell Pils beer there, not great Munich Helles.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork, ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“bavarian hospitality and entertainment at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Stopped off with my wife in this inn recently. We had a very entertaining night. The pub clientele are very friendly and the sing songs are great. Most of the music is Bavarian and Tyrolean, but don't worry if you cannot speak or sing in German as you can easily join in. The pub is around the corner from the Marienplatz ( Munich's central square) and well worth a visit if you are in Munich.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jodlerwirt also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Jodlerwirt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jodlerwirt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.