We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Seehaus

Seehaus
Kleinhesselohe 3 | 80802, 80802 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
+49 89 3816130
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #812 of 2,803 Restaurants in Munich
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Doing business, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Dessert, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The restaurant Seehaus in the English Garden lies at a picture-perfect location directly on the banks of the Kleinhesseloher Lake. It has been in the portfolio of Kuffler's since 1985. Every guest will be delighted to find his own favourite corner in the diversified atmosphere of the rooms presented at the Restaurant Seehaus. The spacious versatile pavilion caters for all guests' requirements. Enjoy breakfast on the border of the lake, and in the afternoon home-made cakes and tarts wait to be served. And in the evening the Pavilion dresses up for cocktails and dinners, for weddings and birthday parties. The bright restaurant offers its guests a pleasant privacy with its niches and round arches. Bright wood and large-scale photos from cattle returning back down to the villages from the mountain pastures brighten up the Bayerisches Stuberl featuring a typical, stylish tiled stove. Under the roof a pure high banquet room was created. It can be optionally used as conference room, ball room, Ladies Lunch Location, just to mention a few of the options - it is beautiful and exquisite at all times. The Seehaus is surrounded by spacious terraces and the beer garden known for its Mediterranean flair. In the kitchen our Chef de Cuisine Christian Muller offers not only classic dishes with a modern touch, but also Mediterranean fish cuisine. Seasonal, regional, home-made.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

A typical Bavarian restaurant with a view over the lake. The view is probably better in the daylight. The food and service were exemplary.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    96
    40
    25
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Better than Expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

While staying at the nearby Hilton, we decided to grab dinner here, after driving in from Innsbruck. We ate inside at a nice table and received acceptable service. All the staff were quite polite and friendly. I had the roast pork and my wife had the duck. We accompanied the meal with wonderful Hefeweizen beer. This was one of our best meals while in Bavaria. The pork was delicious and the duck had a wonderful crispiness. We strolled around the lake before dinner...the park is quite beautiful in the fall colors.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfram S, social media management at Seehaus, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear "punkydoo", thank you very much for recommending our restaurant on TripAdvisor. Best wishes from the Seehaus im Englischen Garten in Munich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Reward yourself after walk in the Englischer Garten”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

The Englischer Garten is a perfect destination right in the center of Munich for a brisk or a leisurely walk in the nature. At the northern end of the park, beyond the Chinese Tower and its beer garden, you will find Seehaus, one of the best restaurants in town where you are served in style with excellent food with local falavour. It is expensive, but worth it, particularly as a reward if you actually did walk there through the park (and will walk back, too). When the weather is nice, you can sit outside and enjoy the ambiance at the lakeside. The variable menu offers enough choices for a demanding palate, too, with beer or wine to match.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfram S, social media management at Seehaus, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear "OTPK", thank you very much for recommending our restaurant. You may also try our beergarden next to the lake next summer - we think you will like it.
Best wishes from the Seehaus im Englischen Garten in Munich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Quite a big restaurant in Englischer Garden, on a lake, therefore the name Lake house. Kind of a traditional look of interior, however choice of food is international and does not seem to be strictly Bavaria. If I recall well, only one meal with sausages and another pork meal (that I picked up). Food was very good and older waiter was very good, showing good knowledge not only of English but he also spoke few words of Bosnian/Croatian/Serbian/Montenegrian to our delight. I can imagine he could surprise some other nations too. Restaurant is pricey, but not too much. Coming for dinner on foot can prove to be problematic especially if you are coming through the park as you can get lost on different paths - nothing will actually happen to you but you may end up on the wrong side of the lake. Consult the map before entering the park, which is dark in the night, or take a taxi. Very good place for groups of all sizes, as you can enjoy without disturbance from other guests.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfram S, social media management at Seehaus, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear "Filotije", thank you very much for taking your time to recommend our restaurant here on TripAdvisor. Yes, we serve a mix of international Food - not strictly Bavarian. We do include several traditional Bavarian meals, but focus on the seasonal specialties. Besides that we focus on a Mediterranean kitchen and seafood (being located next to the lake).
We like to also thank you for the nice comment on your waiter. We are glad to pass it on.
Best wishes from the Seehaus im Englischen Garten in Munich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant in Munich for Beer & Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

I visit this place every time I go to Munich on business (usually once a month). It's always good, and especially good in the Summer when you can sit outside.

Make sure you try the Bavarian duck or the Bavarian crispy pork !!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfram S, social media management at Seehaus, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear "Nickl67", thank you very much for recommending our restaurant here on TripAdvisor. Best wishes from the Seehaus im Englischen Garten, Munich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seehaus also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Seehaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seehaus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.