We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Bavarian meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pfistermuhle

Pfistermuhle
Pfisterstrasse, 4, 80331, Munich, Bavaria, Germany
+49 89 23703865
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #47 of 3,031 Restaurants in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: Enjoy the historic atmosphere of medieval Munich in one of the most beautiful locations in the historic city centre. In the lovingly restored vaults of the dukes mill dating back to 1573 we are offering upscale Bavarian cuisine and fine Franconian wines alongside famed and freshly brewed Ayinger draft beer from the families brewery. In the Pfistermuhle there are four vaults with more altogether 95 seats. Thirty additional seats are available in the beer garden in Summer.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
191 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Best Bavarian meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

This was the best Bavarian meal we had during our four days in Germany, in and around Munich. The restaurant has a lovely ambience with wonderful, friendly service. We surprised ourselves by eating three courses as they timed it so nicely - we rarely eat dessert, but they left us plenty of time until we thought we could just manage it. We shared the foie gras starter and they served it up nicely, already split onto two plates. It was gorgeous. Then I had veal and my husband had fillet steak as he is always on the lookout for a good steak. These were both totally delicious. Afterwards we shared a Bavarian cheese platter, which was also lovely. We followed their recommendations for wine (me) and beer (him) and were not disappointed. This was high end eating and not cheap but a truly excellent meal, location and service.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“don't compare it with the Italians...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Tried to find interesting places to eat prior to trip to Munich. Pfistermuhle war one of the selected. I don't know the positioning but it looks like as an eclectic one. The appearance is German, the service is refined. The wine list is endless. The quality of the food is very average especially compared to Italy, e.g. Siena Tratoria de Popei, where the names of the dishes are similar (also Michelin). In de Popei you foreget about many things as soon as you start to chew. The price in Pfistermuhle was more or less ok taking into account the wine. Nevertheless the expectations were much higher considering Tripadvisor's and Michelin's recommendations

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Don't Miss This Meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We Visited Pfistermuhle during the first week of Oktoberfest 2013. Made reservations in advance and it turned out to be the best meal of our one-week sojourn in Bavaria! Seriously this is a place you don’t want to miss. Rich in tradition, the meal, the room, and the staff were all simply spectacular. I was dining with a part of 6 people and we, as a group, can be hard on restaurants. Pfistermuhle was amazing in every respect. It would be a mistake to miss the opportunity to eat some of the best Bavarian food I’ve ever had (lived in Germany for over 4 years) and to have a romantic, memorable night out in one of Europe’s finest cities. Do not hesitate…….

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Islay_Malt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Templepatrick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The Best of Bavarian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We found this restaurant through an internet search and we were able to have a table the same evening. The staff member who took the call spoke good English so that was reassuring even before we arrived. On arrival we were met by Marco who was going to guide us through the rest of the evening. We took his advice on both the menu and the wine.
I had the lobster broth to start and Cordon Bleu for the main and G had the boiled beef. All of the food was superb as was the wine. Marco was extremely attentive all evening and, we did have a fine dining experience. The restaurant itself is an old building with stone stair cases - extremely quirky but, beautiful.
This is a Bavarian restaurant serving Bavarian style food and the team are extremely proud of their food and rightly so in my opinion. I am looking forward to going back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JDBrady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NICOSIA
Level Contributor
116 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Bavarian Gourmet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Very centrally located, if you like Bavarian cuisine but want a change from the usual Bierhalle food and environment, something finer, with good service, great wines, great atmosphere in the winter, al fresco in the summer this is the place. Prices on the high side but deservedly so.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ANDROS S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pfistermuhle also viewed

 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Pfistermuhle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing