We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Bousquerey

Le Bousquerey
Rablstr. 37, 81669 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
089-488455
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #251 of 2,888 Restaurants in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Right sized meals.
Relaxing ambience.
Good service.
Limited menu but good quality.
A little bit pricey.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    18
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“When in Germany eat Great French Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

After having walked by this place a few times coming and going from the apt we are renting for a week we decided to give it a try what a great decision. The food was great and the service impeccable. Our waiter was very knowledgeable and his recommendations spot on from the wine thru the desert. The marinated salmon and two types of asparagus starter was sublime, the rabbit was served with a superb sauce and small portions of a number of complimentary Items and purees. The house red wine was a Spanish blend of Cabernet, Grenache, and Cinsaut made by the chef's brother a very nice wine. Portions were more than adequate, prices were fair and the menu for three courses at 33 EU was a special bargain.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great french restaurant in Munich !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Every time I felt tired after working the whole day and went to this restaurant, my mood was much better. I definitely recommend this place.

The food is fresh, tastes good, the owner is very nice... Well, simply said, it's just great!
A truly good french restaurant and one of the very rare good restaurants in Munich in my opinion! Moreover, prices are very reasonable when compared to quality.

This restaurant is in the middle of two other french restaurants: the two others absolutely don't match the quality of this one!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good restaurant but suffers from comparison with rivals”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We had a good meal here and would recommend it - three and a half stars rather than three. But there's much competition just in the vicinity and the food and wine did not stand out. Go to Rue des Halles for really good French cuisine in Haidhausen

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“OK French bistro style food but terrible service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Considering most of the almost euphoric reviews I sometimes think I was in an entirely different restaurant.

Le Bousquerey is a pretty authentic french bistro: a row of tiny and narrow tables along mirrored walls, seats about 30 all together.

The chef is french, and supposedly his wife who does the service, too. Our problem was that the service apprarently where nothing but 2 untrained vacation substitutes. Our waitress did not know one wine from the menu, let alone she could make a recommendation.

The food was tasty and authentic french but really nothing special. You find dozens of Bistros of this kind in every french city.

What really pissed me of was the service. We waited exactly 70 minutes (!) until we had the first food on the table, and roughly antother 25 minutes between dishes. We ordered different types of wine for each course, unfortunately some of them arrived after we where nearly finished.

Given that we paid 75 € per person for a 3 course meal including wine and coffee, I expect a little bit more.

If I look at all the other reviews we maybe only came on the wrong day.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Bousquerey also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Le Bousquerey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Bousquerey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.