We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Bavarian Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bratwurstherzl

Bratwurstherzl
Heiliggeiststr. 3/Dreifaltigkeitsplatz 1, Munich, Bavaria, Germany
089-295113
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #76 of 2,693 restaurants in Munich
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Bavarian Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Really lovely dinner - found it via Tripadvisor and was really glad we went. Only downside was that it was a bit difficult to get the waiter's attention - but the food omgamazeballs :)

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    82
    76
    14
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good food: great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Located just off the Vituelen Markt. I had 4 bratwurst with blaukraut. The initial time to order was a bit long due to the number of clients. The food after it had been ordered was excellent and was a very good value for money. I sat outside and shared my table with an interesting group of guys from Essen.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Worth a second visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for authentic Bavarian cuisine this is the place to go. Good value for money compared to some other places and delicious food. The service was excellent and the menu was in English as well as German which was a bonus. We sat outside but had a look inside and the decor was authentic and welcoming. Definitely worth a visit if you're in central Munich and want a taste of the culture.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land Texas
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Great Basic Food at Communal Tables”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Based on other reviews, we had the grilled sausage with sauerkraut and they were great. We had the beer from the barrel and it was the best we had in Munich. We sat at an outdoor table with four other men. Two were very talkative and we had a great time discussing what to do in Munich. The location is next to the famous outdoor beer garden/market and was easy to find. The place was crowded and everyone seemed to be having a great time. Also, the prices were quite reasonable.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“The Real Thing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

If you are looking for an authentic Bavarian meal this is the place to go. It is located a block or so beside the market. We sat outside which was very nice. The bread(pretzels) they bring are so good. Just an FYI, bread is not free in restaurants in Europe, however, these pretzels were well worth it. I got the beginner sausages (6) and sour kraut. It was very good and on a side note, German sour kraut is NOTHING like what we serve in the USA, this tasted so good and not a harsh bite at all. My wife got the bratwurst and potatoe salad, which also was very good. The service was just OK. Our waiter did not stop by much, but passed the table often. He did ask us three times if we wanted more beer. The place was full of local people, so you know the food was the real deal. Over all it was a good meal for a very fair price and a great location.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bratwurstherzl also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Bratwurstherzl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bratwurstherzl, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.