We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food: great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bratwurstherzl

Bratwurstherzl
Heiliggeiststr. 3/Dreifaltigkeitsplatz 1, Munich, Bavaria, Germany
089-295113
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #95 of 2,629 restaurants in Munich
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good food: great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Located just off the Vituelen Markt. I had 4 bratwurst with blaukraut. The initial time to order was a bit long due to the number of clients. The food after it had been ordered was excellent and was a very good value for money. I sat outside and shared my table with an interesting group of guys from Essen.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    72
    74
    13
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Worth a second visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for authentic Bavarian cuisine this is the place to go. Good value for money compared to some other places and delicious food. The service was excellent and the menu was in English as well as German which was a bonus. We sat outside but had a look inside and the decor was authentic and welcoming. Definitely worth a visit if you're in central Munich and want a taste of the culture.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land Texas
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Great Basic Food at Communal Tables”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Based on other reviews, we had the grilled sausage with sauerkraut and they were great. We had the beer from the barrel and it was the best we had in Munich. We sat at an outdoor table with four other men. Two were very talkative and we had a great time discussing what to do in Munich. The location is next to the famous outdoor beer garden/market and was easy to find. The place was crowded and everyone seemed to be having a great time. Also, the prices were quite reasonable.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“The Real Thing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

If you are looking for an authentic Bavarian meal this is the place to go. It is located a block or so beside the market. We sat outside which was very nice. The bread(pretzels) they bring are so good. Just an FYI, bread is not free in restaurants in Europe, however, these pretzels were well worth it. I got the beginner sausages (6) and sour kraut. It was very good and on a side note, German sour kraut is NOTHING like what we serve in the USA, this tasted so good and not a harsh bite at all. My wife got the bratwurst and potatoe salad, which also was very good. The service was just OK. Our waiter did not stop by much, but passed the table often. He did ask us three times if we wanted more beer. The place was full of local people, so you know the food was the real deal. Over all it was a good meal for a very fair price and a great location.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, CA
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
“Bratwurst sausages are what you get here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We had never really tried a "typical" Bavarian meal so we wanted to at least try this but it was always so busy we never had the time until we stopped by at around 4. Even so, almost all the tables outside were taken but we managed to find the last table before they all got reserved. We got the Bratwurst sausages which came in various quantities (4, 6, 8, etc.) and shared this along with sauerkraut and potatoe salad. The beer I wanted was unfortunately not served until 5 so I opted for a white German ale. The sausages came out lukewarm and the kraut and salad were pretty much standard. We had had these kinds of sausages before and these were tasty but I can't say they were better than any others I had had. Nevertheless, the atmosphere was nice and the shaded front let you enjoy Munich and watch people stroll by. Service was eh-- ok. Not especially great and not especially bad, so I guess that's normal for most places. They do take credit cards but seemed quite reluctant. Would I go back here? probably as its conveniently located and the place seems popular with lots of others. But, if you're looking for Bavarian cuisine, you might be able to find several other places in the area as well.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bratwurstherzl also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Bratwurstherzl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bratwurstherzl, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.