We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Bavarian food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Spatenhaus

Spatenhaus
Residenzstr. 12, 80333 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
+49 89 2907060
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #95 of 2,690 restaurants in Munich
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Leiden, The Netherlands
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good Bavarian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Probably the best place in Munich for a good Bavarian meal, available all day. And... an excellent choice of traditional beers.

The service is fast, efficient and friendly.

Be warned: the dishes are VERY big, don't be carried away while ordering ! The tasting plate of Bavarian food was very tasty, but so were all the dishes we ordered during our few visits.

We have visited the Spatenhaus quite a few times, during the last ten years, and the quality of the food and the service has been consistently good.

Well worth a visit when in Munich !

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfram S, social media management at Spatenhaus, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear "Foodaddict001", thank you very much for recommending our restaurant here on TripAdvisor. We will be glad to pass your words to our team.
Best wishes from the Spatenhaus an der Oper in Munich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    225
    207
    55
    20
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“an excellent traditional Bavarian Restaurant, with professional and friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

The Spatenhaus, opposite the Opera House in Munich, is an excellent traditional Bavarian Restaurant.

We have visited the place over the years, and the food is even better than before. The menu is somewhat simplified, but still providing an excellent choice of the long-established local food, as well as fresh beer, or nice wine.

The service is excellent and very professional as well as friendly. Another good news is that the restaurant is open for food of any kind from the menu, all day. You can eat your main dish of the day in the middle of the afternoon, or even after an Opera performance!

If you like consistently high standard Bavarian food the Spatenhaus is your place!

Just one more funny negative: although the toilet in the restaurant is very clean, you have to pay for it, when entering! Prepare your coins! :0)

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfram S, social media management at Spatenhaus, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear "Freindlytraveller", thank you very much for your time to write this review on your stay. We will be glad to pass your words on to our service team. Btw, you never have to pay for visiting our bathroom. The little plate at the bathroomdoor is only a friendly proposal for tipping the people that keep the bathrooms clean. No MUST, but part of the tradition. We apologize for any false impression created.
With our best wishes from the Spatenhaus an der Oper, in Munich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southborough, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Spatenhaus has location, atmosphere and fine food: Sehr gemuetlich!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Spatenhaus is located in Munich Center near Marienplatz on the square directly across from the Opera House. Its a great walking location and convenient to stop in for dinner after a day shopping or touring the Platz. I've tried a number of dishes but my companion always sticks to her Wiener Schnitzel (excellent, BTW). Actually I usually have wine here (try the Burgunder) since bier is a specialty everywhere else. Atmosphere is pleasant, although it can be pretty crowded at the meal rush. Large tables will be commandeered for multiple parties at those times.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfram S, social media management at Spatenhaus, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear "Jim B", thank you very much for the kind and friendly review on your stay.
Best wishes from the Spatenhaus an der Oper in Munich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Wonderful traditional Bavarian restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Since we ate lunch here during Oktoberfest, we were able to try a sampler which included 4 different traditional specialties. Even though I'm not a big meat eater, everything was fantastic. Fortunately, we were with a friend who speaks German and was able to explain the menu to us. It is one of her favorite restaurants in this area of town. I would definitely eat here again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfram S, social media management at Spatenhaus, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear "kathylynne1", thank you very much for your kind recommendation. We apologize for our service-team, which should have offered an English menu. Please feel free to ask for one - if your waiter happens to miss out on this again.
With our best wishes from the Spatenhaus an der Oper in Munich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Traditional Germany Meals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

They serve the traditional Germany meals. Saubraten, Veal snitzel , Spaten makes their own beer thats not as good as other Munich beers. Still good. Food is very good and so is the atmosphere. One time we couldn't get in the restaurant becauce Putin and Angela Merkel were eating there.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfram S, social media management at Spatenhaus, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear "Vanh33", thank you for your kind feedback. Due to some renovations on our historic building, we had to close the restaurant - but will be reopening for (during?) the Oktoberfest. Maybe this would be a good time to see us; Mrs. Merkel and Mr. Putin would probably be in a beertent at that time. best wishes from the Spatenhaus in Munich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spatenhaus also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Spatenhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spatenhaus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.