We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best beer in Munich” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Spatenhaus

Spatenhaus
Residenzstr. 12, 80333 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
+49 89 2907060
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #118 of 2,888 Restaurants in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $38
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children, Doing business
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: A traditional institution at Max-Joseph-Platz, in perfect harmony with the Bavarian National Theatre, Residence and Palais an der Oper. The Munich citizen goes to Spatenhaus with his family, and he invites his business partners to our restaurant, for special events. On the ground floor our restaurant leaves a down-to-earth impression, the four rooms on the top floor are more elegant. The restaurant stands for exclusive hospitality and exquisite traditional German cuisine. Old Bavarian dishes enrich the menu card on the ground floor. On the top floor the kitchen crew offers its guests a more differentiated menu, taking individual requirements into account. Exquisite fish cuisine, classic dishes of Bavarian and Austrian cuisine supplement each other, thus catering perfectly for all tastes. If the weather is dry, the terrace on the Residenzstrasse fills rapidly and is a truly wonderful location to experience typical Munich culture until late at night.
matan
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The best beer in Munich”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

location right across the Opera house.
great atmosphere.
excellent dishes an excellent beer,
although crowded in late afternoon the service was excellent.
don’t miss the traditional Bavarian sausage salad with 2 liters of beer.:)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfram S, social media management at Spatenhaus, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear "michaelsimoni", thank you very much for that friendly comment on your stay at our restaurant. Best wishes from the Spatenhaus an der Oper in Munich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

838 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    357
    341
    92
    29
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great Bavarian Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

My wife and I only had 1 night in Munich (we'll definitely be returning) and our hotel concierge recommended this restaurant as being good standard bavarian food within a very short walk of the hotel, he wasn't wrong!

Great location opposite the Opera House, our first impression was that maybe it was a little too touristy! Maybe it was, but not too much. We ate upstairs where the feel was a little more formal than downstairs but everyone seemed to be enjoying the atmosphere.

The food was very good and came in huge portions, the staff were friendly and efficient and happy to advise on food and wine choices.

Well worth a visit, but arrive hungry!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfram S, social media management at Spatenhaus, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear "Jonathan S", thank you very much for your kind review. We are glad you like our city and enjoyed your dinner with us. If you visit us again, please feel free to "customize" your order in size and ingredience as you wish. Our staff will be glad to help.
Best wishes from the Spatenhaus an der Oper in Munich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bavarian food served to a high standard”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Bavarian food may strike the average punter as fairly straightforward so if a restaurant is to stand it must have some special highlights. Spatenhaus food is delicious and in my opinion their ingredients and fresh preparation must be the reason. We walked of the street and got seated in a relaxed room. The service was speedy. Prices a little on the high side but this is down to its location I guess. It gets 5 points because their potato and cucumber salad was the best I tasted in Munich.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfram S, social media management at Spatenhaus, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear "Rich P", thank you very much for your kind review and the recomendation of our cucumber salad. Best wishes from the Spatenhaus an der Oper in Munich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

The food's good. Prices are still reasonable although slightly dearer than other alternatives within reasonable walking distance. Great if you fancy a view of the Opera house. Service is good and, if you travelling solo, they'll find you a place on a table where conversation is normally good!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfram S, social media management at Spatenhaus, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear "Suze1969_13", thank you very much for your kind review here on TripAdvisor. Best wishes from the Spatenhaus an der Oper in Munich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Traditional Bavarian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Although we did not get the best table, I found the experience at the Spatenhaus very enjoyable. The portion size is generally quite big in Germany so if you are feeling only a little bit peckish, then do order half a portion. The restaurant will gladly accommodate your request. Friendly staff and very clean toilets, should anyone wonder!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfram S, social media management at Spatenhaus, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Marianne, thank you very much for taking your time to write this friendly review on TripAdvisor. Best wishes from the Spatenhaus an der Oper in Munich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spatenhaus also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Spatenhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spatenhaus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.