We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Bavarian Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Spatenhaus

Spatenhaus
Residenzstr. 12, 80333 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
+49 89 2907060
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #72 of 2,629 restaurants in Munich
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great Bavarian Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

My wife and I only had 1 night in Munich (we'll definitely be returning) and our hotel concierge recommended this restaurant as being good standard bavarian food within a very short walk of the hotel, he wasn't wrong!

Great location opposite the Opera House, our first impression was that maybe it was a little too touristy! Maybe it was, but not too much. We ate upstairs where the feel was a little more formal than downstairs but everyone seemed to be enjoying the atmosphere.

The food was very good and came in huge portions, the staff were friendly and efficient and happy to advise on food and wine choices.

Well worth a visit, but arrive hungry!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfram S, social media management at Spatenhaus, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear "Jonathan S", thank you very much for your kind review. We are glad you like our city and enjoyed your dinner with us. If you visit us again, please feel free to "customize" your order in size and ingredience as you wish. Our staff will be glad to help.
Best wishes from the Spatenhaus an der Oper in Munich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    204
    185
    49
    16
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bavarian food served to a high standard”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Bavarian food may strike the average punter as fairly straightforward so if a restaurant is to stand it must have some special highlights. Spatenhaus food is delicious and in my opinion their ingredients and fresh preparation must be the reason. We walked of the street and got seated in a relaxed room. The service was speedy. Prices a little on the high side but this is down to its location I guess. It gets 5 points because their potato and cucumber salad was the best I tasted in Munich.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfram S, social media management at Spatenhaus, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear "Rich P", thank you very much for your kind review and the recomendation of our cucumber salad. Best wishes from the Spatenhaus an der Oper in Munich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

The food's good. Prices are still reasonable although slightly dearer than other alternatives within reasonable walking distance. Great if you fancy a view of the Opera house. Service is good and, if you travelling solo, they'll find you a place on a table where conversation is normally good!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfram S, social media management at Spatenhaus, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear "Suze1969_13", thank you very much for your kind review here on TripAdvisor. Best wishes from the Spatenhaus an der Oper in Munich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Traditional Bavarian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Although we did not get the best table, I found the experience at the Spatenhaus very enjoyable. The portion size is generally quite big in Germany so if you are feeling only a little bit peckish, then do order half a portion. The restaurant will gladly accommodate your request. Friendly staff and very clean toilets, should anyone wonder!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfram S, social media management at Spatenhaus, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Marianne, thank you very much for taking your time to write this friendly review on TripAdvisor. Best wishes from the Spatenhaus an der Oper in Munich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Delicious German Fare”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Was able to secure a last minute reservation during a very business time. Even though we had a set time to finish, were not rushed by the staff. Variety of choices and quality was great. Recommended if you are looking for good German food.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfram S, social media management at Spatenhaus, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear "Tokyo_Yoship", thank you very much for the kind review. We will be happy to pass your friendly words to our service staff. Best wishes from the Spatenhaus an der Oper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spatenhaus also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Spatenhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spatenhaus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.