We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food but bad customer service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Yum 2 Take

Yum 2 Take
Sebastianplatz 8, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
089-66063613
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,761 of 2,845 Restaurants in Munich
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night
Frankfurt, Germany
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good food but bad customer service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

I have been to this small Thai restaurant a few times. Their customer service have never been very good, but the food was good enough for me to keep going back. The restaurant works kind of in a cafeteria style. You go to the cashier to order and pay for the dishes, then bring the receipt to the kitchen area where they geive you an alarm device that goes off when your food is ready. You then go look for seats on your own and wait there until the alarm goes off.

When we went to the restaurant today, there were other people waiting in front of the cashier. We were standing closer to the seating area. An Asian woman suddenly came runninng over and yelled at us, saying in German that if we wanted to order take aways we had to order from the other section, and if we wanted to sit inside, she will "handle the seating". She was rude and we did not understand her accent, and had to ask her to repeat it again. She was very upset and yelled at us even though we were standing not one meter away from her.

Up until today, I had never seen a hostess at this restaurant that brings customers to their table before, and I did not appreciate the rude manner and tone of voice she adopted.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    27
    16
    13
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Turku, Finland
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Ok Thai fast food and nice terrace”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

Decoration is a trendy and food itself is okay Thai fast food. Like in most of places in Europe food is not even nearly as hot as it should be for authentic taste, but otherwise I liked it .
Compared to the restaurant prices in Munich generally, the food was a little bit pricey in my opinion. Around ten euros per portion.
Inside there is a couple of dining tables and outside you can find large, cozy terrace.
Place is located nearby Viktualmarkt, next door to the new indoor market.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Very tasty Thai food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

Right next door to the Hotel Blauer Bock. Unique and tasty food. Popular, so you might have a wait.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
576 reviews 576 reviews
315 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 181 cities Reviews in 181 cities
318 helpful votes 318 helpful votes
“Quick service and good Thai”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011 via mobile

We came across yum2take by chance walking around Munich old town. Located near the Viktualien Market, it is cheap, no fuss dining, tables indoors and outside in plaza. Order at cash register and then get buzzer to alert you when meal is ready to be collected. Sunday night had steady flow of customers. Meals are freshly prepared, good serve size and flavoursome. English menu for non german speakers. Most dishes €8-10. Enjoyable and good for no fuss quick meal or if want to sit and linger. Has limited beer and wine selection.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford CT
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good thai food, nice location, reasonable prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

Despite other reviewers I found Yum 2 take quite good. The service was fast enough and my red curry was really great. Both my friends had the pad thai and thought it was excellent and the thai spring rolls we shared we nicely done, not too greasy with a fine dipping sauce. About the service...one guy was upset at the people behind the counter because his order didn't arrive with his friends order. The fact that he had ordered after his froends had placed their order seemed lost on him and he was berating the staff in German for lousy service. I'm just saying...

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yum 2 Take also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Yum 2 Take? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yum 2 Take, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.