We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great night” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ennstaler Stubn

Ennstaler Stubn
Reifenstuelstrasse 1, 80469 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
+49 89 46135737
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #191 of 2,690 restaurants in Munich
Price range: $7 - $14
Cuisines: Austrian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Brampton
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

I read a review on this resturant that described it like going to your favorite aunt's place. How right he was.We took a cab to get there and when we got there we were greeted by Monique(hope I got the name right).What a wonderful lady.The menu is in german but she seemed to take great pleasure in explaining it to us. It is a Austrian resturant and we picked a couple of dishes she suggested for dinner and desert. I know it sounds stupid not to be able to describe what we had,but I can tell you it was very good and there was plenty of it. She offered to wrap it up for us to take with us but we had no where to keep it.When my wife asked what the people at the next table were drinking she explained it was a house speacial and proceeded to bring us one at no charge. It tasted a little fruity and was refreshing .Their was another very nice lady who stopped by our table a couple of times and she brought us a Austrian drink (very strong) to try (no charge) I liked it but my wife thought it to be a little too strong.Their was a good mix of locals and tourist. When it came time to leave we asked if she could call us a cab, which she did and then gave us a hug and told us that she was very happy to have met us.When we were outside waiting for the cab she came out to let us know it would be there in a couple of minutes and gave us another hug.It was my favorite dinning experience on our two week trip to Europe.Give it a try you will not be disappointed

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    23
    4
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great for down-to-earth Austrian food...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

Great food, very good service, excellent value for money!

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Like going to your aunt's house -- if she's German and a wonderful cook”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

When we first arrived, we met the proprietor and she showed us to a table in the crowded restaurant. We were a bit nervous at first, as we were sharing the table with a couple, but they did not mind and very quickly the owner/waitress began explaining the dishes, very happy to be practicing her English. She was an extremely nice woman, as will be showed later, and made it an awesome experience.

None of us spoke a word of German, but that didn't matter as she was happy to help us out and we struggled through the menu together. I don't remember what I ordered, but I do know it was basically the German version of fajitas. Their schnitzel was wonderful, the sauces on the meats were perfect, and we had an absolutely awesome time there, eating, talking to the waitress, and just enjoying the night. It felt like the ultimate locals restaurant.

It is a bit out of the way, but well worth the 2km hike or ride from the train station, and we enjoyed the walk back.

It was during the dinner that we realized that we may have missed our last train to Salzburg where we were staying. We immediately told the waitress, and she dropped what she was doing to help find us the number of the train station and figure out the schedule. She was extremely kind in doing so, as was apparently touched by us as well, giving us suckers at the end, "sweets for her sweets." It was a night none of us will ever forget, and I hope that you get to enjoy it as well.

  • Visited March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Tip from a local. Eat at the Ennstaler Stubn.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2010

I am an American living in Munich the last 10 years. I eat regularly at the Ennstaler Stubn and can only suggest you eat here when in town. The prices are great and the food is prepared with such love (Liebe), you will swear you are at your favorite aunt's place. The decor is cluttered and wonderfully tacky. It simply not to be missed. Anything you order is genuine. Just take the subway to Goetheplatz (U3/U6) and exit towards the KAPUZINERSTRASSE. You will see a Sparkasse Bank and a road running off at an angle behind it. Follow this road ADLZREITERSTRASSE and the restaurant will be down the street no your right. You will not find a tourist, but you will find wonderful ladies who will impress you with their limited English and capable cooking!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“best food, for very affordable prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2008

best food, for very affordable prices

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ennstaler Stubn also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Ennstaler Stubn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ennstaler Stubn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.