We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to eat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yum - Thai Kitchen & Bar

Yum - Thai Kitchen & Bar
Utzschneiderstrasse 6, 80469 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
089 23230660
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #145 of 2,697 restaurants in Munich
Price range: $27 - $47
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert, Street Food
Bangor, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great place to eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Saw this on web site and decided to try it. Very pleasant atmosphere. Nice bowl of lemongrass infusion to start the evening with. Chose sweet and sour tofu and green curry, both excellent. All food was beautifully presented. Staff very knowledgeable and pleasant. Would certainly return to Yum for another meal if I return to Munich. Only downside was they didn't take Mastercard (seems to be common in restaurants in Munich). Worth booking a table, not much chance of getting one without doing so.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    96
    70
    25
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Tasty Thai food with exceptional service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Great atmosphere, delicious Thai food and attentive wait staff. I've heard that its hard to get decent Asian food in Munich, but Yum certainly delivers. Not cheap, but tasty. Roughly €20 per dish.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CopenhagenDenmark
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Yummi....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

This was my first visit to Yum. I did my research here of course - and since this was close to our hotel we went for it.

Yum is apparently a very hip place - trendy decor (contemporary thai) - a little bit loud - but only because it was packed (on a Tuesday night!). Service was extremely swift and service minded - everything just worked out perfectly on that front. The usual thai courtesy - which I like and try my best to return.

I started out with Tod Man Gai (marinated chicken breast) with the most amazing cucumber/peanut sauce/dip. The meat was perhaps a little on the dry side - but the amazing sauce compensated!!

Main was duck in red curry. It was quite hot - I loved it - but had it been any more hot it would (according to my taste) have been ruined. It was probably one of the best red curries I've ever had - it was very very delicious - creamy and full of taste. Veggies were crunchy and just right to my taste.

My 2 colleages seemed just as hyped by their food - so 3 x thumbs up from here. All our best recommendations!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“The hidden secret in Munich!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

This was the best Thai restaurant that I have ever been too. The service and food was great!!! I would recommend this restaurant to anyone that is in the area and wants some great Thai food.

If you go after 18:00 then you will need to make reservations.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tel aviv
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“super restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

it was our third or forth visit to YUM restaurant and lik always,the food is great and so is the atmosphere. don't forget to make a reservation on the internet and enjoy.
a full dinner with coctails is 80 euros.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yum - Thai Kitchen & Bar also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria

Been to Yum - Thai Kitchen & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yum - Thai Kitchen & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.