We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better and better” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kun-Tuk

Kun-Tuk
Amalienstrasse 81, 80799 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
+4989283700
Improve this listing
Ranked #524 of 2,712 restaurants in Munich
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night, Street Food
Cork, Ireland
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Better and better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We have visited this restaurant on each visit to Munich, having first found in a guide book.
This time we forgot our guide book and struggled to find it - we were within a street all the time!!!!
Got a table, but it was really busy!
We have always liked it, both for food and the fun we've had there!! But this time food seemed better than ever - all 3 of us agreed best Thai anywhere!!
We'll be back

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    16
    12
    1
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

The food was really great, but the prices were a little steep in comparison to the portions. The staff was friendly and helpful. They have an English menu if you ask for it.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CopenhagenDenmark
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Good food - could do with better service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Nice little restaurant in a somewhat quiet street in the University neighborhood.

We were held up because of technical problems in the Ubahn and ended up being 45 min. too late. I rang the restaurant and informed them - and it wasn't a problem.

Our waitress and waiter were not really very enthusiastic - they seemed tired and somewhat worn out. Don't know if that actually was the case - but they weren't really all too attentive - but of course very polite.

Food was excellent!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Top Contributor
319 reviews 319 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
236 helpful votes 236 helpful votes
“Nice thai restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

The lunch menu is good price for Munich, the portion is ok too for such price. We took phad thai to taste first how fresh they serve and it was good. So we try lunch menu, they offer seafood curry , chiken and duck. The duck is so crispy and have a great taste too. Even for Thai food its bit lack of fresh galangal and lemon grass taste bit we are in munchen so the food just good for Thai food in Germany.The location is good also with many university and cafes. The ambiance in the interior bit dark maybe because they have a bar also but for lunch is bit feel like dinner :) any way it was great experience to lunch here

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Easily the best Thai in Munich. Super Spicy Too!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

I love this place, and I take my girlfriend there for special occasions. I was introduced to it by some colleagues of mine, and let me tell you that the food is fantastic. If you order it extra spicy, they have that wonderful Thai Spice that will make your mouth explode and your eyes water. It's wonderful! 100% Recommended!

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kun-Tuk also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Kun-Tuk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kun-Tuk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.