We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Bavarian!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wirtshaus In Der Au

Wirtshaus In Der Au
Lilienstr. 51, Munich, Bavaria, Germany
089-4481400
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #68 of 2,803 Restaurants in Munich
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business, Large groups, Entertaining clients, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Dessert, Late Night, Reservations
Newcastle-under-Lyme
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Very Bavarian!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Great - a beautifully decorated place, excellent, friendly service. This was our first day in the city and we wanted somewhere very traditional. The staff were helpful and gave us good advice over what to eat and drink. We sat outside after the meal and spent a very pleasant evening just watching the locals.
Highly recommended for anyone staying around the area (Holiday Inn, Hilton, Novotel hotels are all within five minutes walking distance), but it's definitely not just for foreign tourists.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    177
    39
    12
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“More than a pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

This is a great place to meet friends and enjoy a beer...like so many other places in Munich. However three things distinguish it from others. First, the food is excellent with top drawer Bavarian choice, quality and presentation, second the staff who seem genuinely happy and make you feel welcome and third... the designer toilet (mens) that would not disgrace a five star hotel. All impressive though you do need to like a fairly loud atmosphere. Reservations recommended.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Very good first night in Munich”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

We had a very good meal here. Salads were fresh and creative. We had the dumplings, roast pork, pigs knuckle and beer (of course). They provided us a full English menu and the staff could not have been kinder. By no means a tourist trap. I suggest a reservation, as it was quite busy. A great first meal in Munich.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

We went here after seeing it on TripAdvisor and we were not disappointed! We had no reservation and it was very busy but the waitress managed to find us a space so long as we left before the people who had a reservation arrived. The food was delicious, served very promptly and the beer was also very nice. Make sure to save room for dessert as the apple pancakes are to die for, and one portion is more than ample for two people. Can't wait to visit again!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“bavarian food with a modern twist”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

i have to say, this is one of my favorite places on munich. whenever i've friends visiting me, we'll go here. the atmosphere is nice, a modern wirtshaus, the beer is okay, but it's the quality of the food and the super friendly service that makes it one of the best restaurants in munich. an extra plus: even though they service bavarian food, they have a lot of veggie choices. a must try is the appetizer plate (1 for 4 persons is enough) and the dessert plate, though i've never seen anybody who was able to finish it.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wirtshaus In Der Au also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Wirtshaus In Der Au? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wirtshaus In Der Au, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.