We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional German food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wirtshaus In Der Au

Wirtshaus In Der Au
Lilienstr. 51, Munich, Bavaria, Germany
089-4481400
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #54 of 2,808 Restaurants in Munich
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Draper, UT.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Traditional German food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

The location was a bit hard to find. Actually it is right near Marienplatz, but the logo on the building blends right in and is easy to miss. Traditional German food. We ordered Vienerschnitzel, dumplings, roast pork, coleslaw, sauerkraut. It was all delicious. We were seated at a long picnic table with other diners, so it was enjoyable to chat with them as well. They were exceptionally busy the evening we were there so the service was a little slower, but all things considered a great dine.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    157
    30
    12
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good food, atmosphere and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We found this restaurant through a review of a hotel we were contemplating staying at and I’m truly thrilled we did because it was one of the best meals we had in Munich. Although it is a casual place I would suggest reservations. We arrived at 6:45pm on a Thursday night and although the restaurant appeared open all tables were fully committed with reservations. We sat at the bar and Stephfan took great care of us. The atmosphere was welcoming and cozy and everyone we interacted with was committed to ensuring we enjoyed our meal. Everything we ordered was flavorful and perfectly presented. It is apparent they care about their product and we will go back next time we are in the area.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Excellent experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We only popped in for a quick beer, but wish we could've stayed longer and had food, which looked excellent. The greeting and service were very friendly, and the waiting staff could all speak English. The atmosphere and decor were top notch. Well worth seeking this place out.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
223 reviews 223 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“What a surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

We stumbled upon Wirtshaus in der Au after a visit to the Deutches Museum. It is across the river from the museum.

It is classically decorated, bright and friendly with tables outside too. We had salads--- mine was the Bavarian Ceasar and it was first class. I'd order it again in a heart beat! It's no wonder this restaurant has a high Trip Advisor rating--- it deserves it!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAINESVILLE
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Bavarian Example”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

This is a very nice restaurant that does have the Bavarian authenticity. The service was good and the food menu had good varieties. I had a chance to taste their Duck portion and it was good tasting. However, the duck was slightly over cooked making the meat little dry. They have very good selection of beers and liquors. A must visit if you are in Munich.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wirtshaus In Der Au also viewed

 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Wirtshaus In Der Au? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wirtshaus In Der Au, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.