We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect place for a Bavarian dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wirtshaus In Der Au

Wirtshaus In Der Au
Lilienstr. 51, Munich, Bavaria, Germany
089-4481400
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #67 of 2,803 Restaurants in Munich
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Moscow, Russia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A perfect place for a Bavarian dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

A very nice place, good service, top food, no language problems at all! The chef definitely knows what to do with meats! The Bavarian ox medium rare is highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    177
    39
    12
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Bavarian food at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Beside the good food and beer, this location inside and ouside is just great. Everything fits, the bavarian dress style of the whole staff is a must see.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Dinner with colleagues”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We've been in a team of 16 in this nice restaurant, with the opportunity to dinner outside. Food and service was excelle, with tipic bavarian food. Worth to come back nex time I'll be in Munich.
Reccomended!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Gallen, Switzerland
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“This was just great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

I spent the evening with a friend from Munich in this wonderful 'corner' Biergarten like restaurant in Munich. The staff was absolutely great - friendly and always smiling. The food (I had Wiener Schnitzel with potatoes and salad) was as good as it can get and it was wonderful to sit outside at this warm summer night. Overall an excellent experience in a local authentic restaurants visited by locals.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great atmosphete + Ox Steak mit rissoto+ Beer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Novotel Muchen City. On our first day we went here because we were beaten after our self guided bike rides in Munich. After a bit of rest at our hotel we cross a small river in front of Novotel and found thia gem. The waitress handed us an english menu. For dinner I had ox steak with rissoto, my wife had bavarian duck with a veraion of sourkraut and my daughter had a pasta filled with ricotta and spinach. All of us loved it except that we found the german potato dumpling a bit strange for our palate but we munched half of it. I recommend this place for anyone looking for place to chill, have lunch, dinner, good laugh with friends and family. Cheers

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wirtshaus In Der Au also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Wirtshaus In Der Au? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wirtshaus In Der Au, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.