We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, good service - and bad manners” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Weinhaus Neuner

Weinhaus Neuner
Herzogspitalstr. 8, Munich, Bavaria, Germany
089-2603954
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #135 of 3,219 Restaurants in Munich
Cuisines: German, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Bålsta
Level Contributor
77 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great food, good service - and bad manners”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Food was very good - well prepared and large protions. No first course required. The Weinehouse evidently is specialised in German wines, so anyone considering anything else but German ones will have a very limited selection. We found this was the only real set back that would be hard to change. Service was prompt and frtiendly. But - as "our" waiter found soon out we were not Germans his manners changed in an unpleasant way. Wine should be served in the proper way from the right hand side and plates should be offered and removed from the table in a professional way. None of this: A hairy arm passed our noses when he served the wine to avoid taking one step or two too many. Full or empty plates were passed in just about the same way.
Pitty a good restaurant should have a waiter who evidently is not of the same quality as the restaurant. Finally - when we left - he was chatting with some beauty outside the restaurant without paying any interest in the guests he had been serving. Unfortunately I had alrady left a tip ...

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Claes T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
148 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Highly Enjoyable Evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

I ate here last Saturday and had a thoroughly enjoyable evening. From the amuse bouche to the coffee, the food was delicious and well exceuted. The service was very good, with the staff going out of their way to organise a taxi after dinner and also recommended a nice bar. The atmosphere is wonderful and quite romantic. The prices were quite reasonable for a meal considering the quality of the food and service. Would recommend this restaurant to any couple or groups of friends in Munich looking for an unpretentious restaurant with excellent food and friendly service.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 932NB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Exceptional Dining and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We had a wonderful dinner at this restaurant. We split the grilled shrimp with fresh greens and pesto as an appetizer, followed by roast duck for my friend and venison for me. The venison was tender yet tasty. The Austrian red wines were terrific. My friend was gluten intolerant and they made sure that everything met her needs - the sauces and substituting potatoes for flour.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SaveyFLTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A really nice atmosphere, great service, very good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I think the title says it all, they handled a small group very well, service was top notch and the food was excellent.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“fantastic place definitely a place to try in Munich”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Great food and wine, a must try when in Munich we had meal for 8 of us recomended by customer and did not disappoint

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank stemily12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Weinhaus Neuner also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Weinhaus Neuner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing