We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, good service - and bad manners” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Weinhaus Neuner

Weinhaus Neuner
Herzogspitalstr. 8, Munich, Bavaria, Germany
089-2603954
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #124 of 2,702 restaurants in Munich
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Bålsta
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great food, good service - and bad manners”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Food was very good - well prepared and large protions. No first course required. The Weinehouse evidently is specialised in German wines, so anyone considering anything else but German ones will have a very limited selection. We found this was the only real set back that would be hard to change. Service was prompt and frtiendly. But - as "our" waiter found soon out we were not Germans his manners changed in an unpleasant way. Wine should be served in the proper way from the right hand side and plates should be offered and removed from the table in a professional way. None of this: A hairy arm passed our noses when he served the wine to avoid taking one step or two too many. Full or empty plates were passed in just about the same way.
Pitty a good restaurant should have a waiter who evidently is not of the same quality as the restaurant. Finally - when we left - he was chatting with some beauty outside the restaurant without paying any interest in the guests he had been serving. Unfortunately I had alrady left a tip ...

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    56
    34
    9
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Highly Enjoyable Evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

I ate here last Saturday and had a thoroughly enjoyable evening. From the amuse bouche to the coffee, the food was delicious and well exceuted. The service was very good, with the staff going out of their way to organise a taxi after dinner and also recommended a nice bar. The atmosphere is wonderful and quite romantic. The prices were quite reasonable for a meal considering the quality of the food and service. Would recommend this restaurant to any couple or groups of friends in Munich looking for an unpretentious restaurant with excellent food and friendly service.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Exceptional Dining and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We had a wonderful dinner at this restaurant. We split the grilled shrimp with fresh greens and pesto as an appetizer, followed by roast duck for my friend and venison for me. The venison was tender yet tasty. The Austrian red wines were terrific. My friend was gluten intolerant and they made sure that everything met her needs - the sauces and substituting potatoes for flour.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A really nice atmosphere, great service, very good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I think the title says it all, they handled a small group very well, service was top notch and the food was excellent.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“fantastic place definitely a place to try in Munich”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Great food and wine, a must try when in Munich we had meal for 8 of us recomended by customer and did not disappoint

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Weinhaus Neuner also viewed

 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria

Been to Weinhaus Neuner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Weinhaus Neuner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.