We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scheider Weisse - my first love” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Weisses Brauhaus

Weisses Brauhaus
Tal 7, 81673 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
089-299875
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #236 of 2,809 Restaurants in Munich
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Scheider Weisse - my first love”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We visit this restaurant each time we are in Munich, either for lunch or for dinner.
Same quality of food and beer for kast 15 years.

A typical Traditional Bavarian beerhouse, therefore one has to expect
- place is always noisy, crowded
- tables are all shared, if a couple is occupying a table for 4 expect other guests to come and ask if they can share the table with you
-waitresses are swift, efficient, but a bit rude by international standards - that is part of a tradition, nothing personal. They can carry 5 one-liter beer glasses in one hand or loads of food without difficulty
- you need reservation for Friday and Saturday night ( easily done vis Internet) because the place is overcrowded and people queue in the street to get there

Beer - over 7 types of Scjmeider Weisse, which is a wheat beer, all excellent
Food - though most of the menu is traditional Bavarian roasted meat and fatty food, one can find some more dietary dishes. Just ask fot an English menu, otherwise you will get lost in traditional German food names

Dishes not to be missed:

Schwene Haxe - grilled knuckle of a pig
Taffelspitz - boiled beef in herbs
Bavarian ente - grilled duck

Note that potrions are HUGE , so don't make a mistake by orderin a salad and a main dish, or a soup and a main dish - you will leave half of each

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    235
    347
    98
    32
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster England
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Excellent traditional fayre.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Iv'e eaten here on several occasions over the years. it does not disappoint.

Pricey but you are bang in the centre of tourist ville. High quality with a very good choice of traditional beers.

As with all other places in Munich if people are sat at a table and there's free seating - ASK - it's normal to share tables with strangers here, I'm sure you'll end up chatting as I often do.

Well worth the visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fun and authentic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This place was one of our stops in Munich. There are a few historic beer halls around there and this is among the top three. We enjoyed it and over the course of only a week, we grew to recognize just how differently each beer hall crafts their food. That was a delight in and of itself, but this place was tasty and fun. I'd recommend it for just about anyone, tough you should know that it WILL be noisy.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Bavarian Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We ate at several brewhouses while in Munich and enjoyed this one the most. This place wasn't as touristy as the other ones we went to. It was very busy, but we did not have to wait long for a seat. They had a great selection of Bavarian food including several schnitzles and many sausages plus a good selection of local beer to choose from. The dunkel bier was excellent. The prices were very fair for the amount of food we received.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“7th in the beer list”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Local food and local beer was very tasty, very crowded during evening. Prices are fair. The beer no 7 in the beer list is marvalous. Typical Bavarian restaurant. Been there two consequtive nights.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Weisses Brauhaus also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Weisses Brauhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Weisses Brauhaus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.