We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Bavarian Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Weisses Brauhaus

Weisses Brauhaus
Tal 7, 81673 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
089-299875
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #237 of 2,920 Restaurants in Munich
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Bavarian Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We ate at several brewhouses while in Munich and enjoyed this one the most. This place wasn't as touristy as the other ones we went to. It was very busy, but we did not have to wait long for a seat. They had a great selection of Bavarian food including several schnitzles and many sausages plus a good selection of local beer to choose from. The dunkel bier was excellent. The prices were very fair for the amount of food we received.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

888 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    282
    409
    114
    35
    48
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“7th in the beer list”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Local food and local beer was very tasty, very crowded during evening. Prices are fair. The beer no 7 in the beer list is marvalous. Typical Bavarian restaurant. Been there two consequtive nights.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona del Mar, California
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Brews Galore, Food too”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We ate here twice on a recent trip to Munich, and it wasn't our first time. Five years ago it was equally good. The Weisses Beer is not to be missed, goes down so easy. The food is very tasty and arrives with dispatch. The waitresses are no-nonsense types but somehow you don't mind since everyone is having such a good time, and most of these are locals, so you know you've made the right decision to eat here. The English menu is translated awkwardly (we were with some non-German speakers) so I always get the German. Some of the dishes are definitely of the exotic offal variety (lungs, anyone? spleen?) but the usual wursts and Schweineshaxe also show up. Soups and mushroom dishes are particularly good. And I got some creamed spinach so good that almost made me cry.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Our favorite Brauhaus!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

During our week in Munich, we visited a number of brewhouses, but this was our favorite. We were greeted warmly (this in itself was unusual as most places snarled "reservation?" before kicking us out) and our waitress was friendly and efficient, delivering huge trays of food effortlessly. The dark weiss beer is smooth and rich, one of the best brews I tasted, and the food (pork, dumplings and, for my husband, calves liver!) was tastier than the fare we ate at other restaurants of the same ilk. Next time I'm in Munich, I WILL make a reservation - great atmoshere!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
377 reviews 377 reviews
256 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“Awesome food and even better beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

I absolutely love Schneider Weiss beer (Schneider & Son) and this is their brauhaus. The potato soup is delicious and their pork knuckle is to die for. It looks more like a giant turkey drumstick and is super crispy on the outside. Love the selection of beers - Try tap 6 the Aventinus which is one of my favorites - it's a dark wheat dopplebock. To finish the night off, you must try the Eisbock (another dark beer with a little sweetness at the end). Be careful though! The Eisbock is 12% alcohol! Are here twice in 2 days. It was THAT good!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Weisses Brauhaus also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Weisses Brauhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Weisses Brauhaus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.