We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Self-serve with style” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vapiano

Vapiano
15 Theatinerstrasse, Munich, Bavaria, Germany
089 2060 65860
Improve this listing
Ranked #953 of 2,920 Restaurants in Munich
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Dessert, Late Night, Takeout
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Self-serve with style”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Took us a moment to understand the ordering process after being handed a card! The card is used to order at several counters (drinks, pasta, pizza, salad) and you carry the food, once cooked, to your table. We both had pizza which was delicious and we liked that there were potted herbs on the table to enhance your meal. Good value for money!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    110
    44
    20
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Salinas, CA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Just love the place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

So when we go to Germany, we eat Italian. Don't get me wrong, I love all the German food and I can't get enough pretzels with Obatzda. Infact, I could eat pretzels with Obatzda every day of my life. But, after a few days in Germany, my family always craves a trip to Vapiano. The kids love to order the different items. I just love to sit at one of their tables, drink a beer, relax, and watch the family interact with the chefs as they order their food. Great, refreshing food, at a reasonable prices. I assume they will be opening in the San Francisco area soon enough, but it won't be the same in the states, it never is...

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good for a Quick Meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Different lines prepare made-to-order salad, pizza, or pasta to your taste. Reasonably priced. Decent atmosphere for a quick meal.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Fresh and excellent value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

First stumbled across this German gem a few years ago on a trip to Berlin and was delighted to see they had a branch in Munich.

The food is fresh, (cooked right in front of you), represents good value, and there is an excellent variety of choice as well.

Ideal for family, friends or dining alone as well.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erding, Germany
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Loud and good taste”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

self service with special remotefinishcontroll devices. big chance to choise salata pizza pasta etc. all frech and individual . chairs an not very cool , have a nice view into the mall

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vapiano also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Vapiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vapiano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.