We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food - fantastic service.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tantris

Tantris
Johann-Fichte-Str. 7, 80805 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
089-3619590
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 2,722 Restaurants in Munich
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic food - fantastic service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

My wife and I dined here for our anniversary and went for the 5-course tasting menu, including the wine recommendations and it was brilliant.

One point to note, I reserved this restaurant via email and they did ask for a deposit before the reservation was confirmed.

The design and decor sets the mood and the waiters are very polished and are happy to speak English to tourists like us.

The food offered includes some interesting and imaginative combinations. White asparagus was in season at the time and our first course involved a wonderful ensemble including Salmon. My favourite course was the "Entrecôte with beans, potato tarte and fresh morels". The wine selected for each course was perfectly matched.

Overall, 2 michelin stars is definitely an effective measure of the quality of food and service offered and Tantris deserves its reputation as one of Munich's finest.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    191
    42
    37
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
palo alto, ca
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“not worth it”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

let me start with the positives, great service and funky restaurant design that was fun. we ordered the 5 course tasting menu with paired wines. food and pairings were solid but nothing amazing. at this price point you just need to execute to a much higher standard and the consensus was this did not deliver. too bad, we did a lot of homework to find the perfect place and were very much looking forward to it as our only night in Munich.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“An experience everyone should live”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Tantris is a classic restaurant. It is not "only" a restaurant that has 2 michelin stars. It is an "institution" in Munich and one of the best restaurants in Germany.
The decoration is still on the line of the 70s but of course new. We found it amazing.
The food was great, but classic. Saying that, do not expect many creativity like in other starred restaurants, but that is not necessarily a bad point. Every dish was perfectly cooked and presented.
There was only a small problem that should not happen in such an excellent restaurant. One of the wine bottles that we ordered, was not shown to us by the Sommelier. Unfortunately that little mistake made a difference, because we noticed later that he brought us a different bottle from the one we ordered. Even though for the amazing experience, decoration and food I decided to give 5 stars. Who likes excellent restaurants, must go at least once in Tantris.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service, but some minuses”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

My wife and I had the pleasure of dining at Tantris in May 2013. The restaurant itself is easy to find. The decor may not be for everyone, but we didn't mind it. The servers were very courteous, and we were escorted to our table.

We had the 8-course tasting menu. The portions are very generous, from the amuse bouche to the dessert. We found ourselves struggling around the 5th course. Each course was introduced. Bread dishes and water glasses were kept filled.

Now, onto the food. First, the wines are paired well. The sommelier has definitely done his homework. My wife enjoyed the foie gras terrine. Unlike in America, where it comes in the form of a pate, this dish had chunks of liver embedded in the terrine. Delicious with the brioche. The veal medallions appeared to be prepared in a sous vide style, and were very tender, flavorful, and balanced.

There has been criticism of the pacing in other reviews. Our dinner did last four hours, but we did not mind the pacing one bit, as it gave us time to enjoy the food and each other's company.

The minuses - Perhaps it is a regional taste, but we found several of the dishes (notably the oxtail broth) too salty. Additionally, chef Haas is experimenting with molecular gastronomy, as many courses came with foam. I can appreciate the art form, but it did become old hat at some point.

I would rate this restaurant superior to Gordon Ramsay, but inferior to the French Laundry in terms of cuisine, service, and value.

Total came out to about 600 euro.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo, Sao Paulo, Brazil
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Delicious food, excellent service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Although expensive it's a fantastic restaurant. The food is really great, from the starts to the coffee, everything was perfect. The service is excellent, they have a great staff who speak English and are very cordial and efficient. Wonderful. A must go.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tantris also viewed

 

Been to Tantris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tantris, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.