We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rather special restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Mark's at Mandarin Oriental, Munich - CLOSED

Restaurant Mark's at Mandarin Oriental, Munich
Neuturmstrasse 1, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Improve this listing
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Nassau
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Rather special restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014 via mobile

This top rated restaurant is definitely a Michelin special. Various courses were all tasty but certainly small portions!

Expensive for sure and not great for atmosphere the evening we were there. More of a business location.

Visited October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    14
    6
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Very good, one of the best in Munich”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

We are breakfast there everyday and it is great. Dinner one night and also very good and charming with terrific service. One of the best in Munich.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Worthy of the Star”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Great menu and nice variety on the tasting menu with wine, Staff were great and very attentive. Would recommend it highly.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Surprisingly great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We ended up going to Restaurant Mark's because the hotel gave us a dinner credit and we were exhausted from traveling all day. Little did we know this was actually one of the better reviewed and fancier spots in the whole city!

I have to say it really blew us away with how good the whole experience was. Maybe it was because we weren't expecting it, but every dish was fabulous. We had amazing wine, fantastic service, and while I'd say the atmosphere could have been better (it's on a balcony that overlooks the hotel lobby), we were overjoyed with our experience.

Probably not somewhere we would have ended up given the cost without the voucher from the hotel, but a place I'd seek out and be thrilled to return to the next time I'm in Munich.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOMUCMunich, Manager at Restaurant Mark's at Mandarin Oriental, Munich, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Brk212,
Thank you for the positive comment and for taking the time to share your experience. It is a pleasure to hear that you were pleasantly surprised and enjoyed your visit to Restaurant Mark’s. Surely the team is thrilled to receive the positive feedback and we are all anticipating your next visit.
Best regards,
Clemens Heinrich
Food and Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

upper class restaurant, plse book in advance. A place not to eat alone, 4 people would be the best, 2 people sharing a dinner, would get bored.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOMUCMunich, Manager at Restaurant Mark's at Mandarin Oriental, Munich, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear marie j,
Thank you so much for taking the time. We highly appreciate you sharing your positive and constructive comments about our Restaurant Mark’s. Our team is always delighted and grateful for receiving feedback from our guests.
We hope to welcoming you again shortly at Restaurant Mark’s!
Best regards,
Clemens Heinrich
Food and Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Mark's at Mandarin Oriental, Munich also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Mark's at Mandarin Oriental, Munich, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.