We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Mark's at Mandarin Oriental, Munich - CLOSED

Restaurant Mark's at Mandarin Oriental, Munich
Neuturmstrasse 1, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Improve this listing
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Surprisingly great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We ended up going to Restaurant Mark's because the hotel gave us a dinner credit and we were exhausted from traveling all day. Little did we know this was actually one of the better reviewed and fancier spots in the whole city!

I have to say it really blew us away with how good the whole experience was. Maybe it was because we weren't expecting it, but every dish was fabulous. We had amazing wine, fantastic service, and while I'd say the atmosphere could have been better (it's on a balcony that overlooks the hotel lobby), we were overjoyed with our experience.

Probably not somewhere we would have ended up given the cost without the voucher from the hotel, but a place I'd seek out and be thrilled to return to the next time I'm in Munich.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOMUCMunich, Manager at Restaurant Mark's at Mandarin Oriental, Munich, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Brk212,
Thank you for the positive comment and for taking the time to share your experience. It is a pleasure to hear that you were pleasantly surprised and enjoyed your visit to Restaurant Mark’s. Surely the team is thrilled to receive the positive feedback and we are all anticipating your next visit.
Best regards,
Clemens Heinrich
Food and Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    14
    6
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

upper class restaurant, plse book in advance. A place not to eat alone, 4 people would be the best, 2 people sharing a dinner, would get bored.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOMUCMunich, Manager at Restaurant Mark's at Mandarin Oriental, Munich, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear marie j,
Thank you so much for taking the time. We highly appreciate you sharing your positive and constructive comments about our Restaurant Mark’s. Our team is always delighted and grateful for receiving feedback from our guests.
We hope to welcoming you again shortly at Restaurant Mark’s!
Best regards,
Clemens Heinrich
Food and Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Pierce, Florida
Top Contributor
308 reviews 308 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
370 helpful votes 370 helpful votes
“Superb Surroundings marred by cell phone talker.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

This is an elegant room in an equally elegant hotel. Service and cuisine were as expected and matched the Michelin star rating. The location is in a quiet area, but close to other shopping and interest areas. The hotel remains a prize for travelers who can afford it.

My one issue is that they permit cell phone use in the room and I asked to have my table changed because of one women who talked non-stop, loudly, of course, on her phone throughout the first course of my meal. Permitting such a disturbance in any fine restaurant is unacceptable, given the prices and the expectations of other guests.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOMUCMunich, Manager at Restaurant Mark's at Mandarin Oriental, Munich, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear jjstives,
What a wonderful comment! We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your impressions on your recent visit at Restaurant Mark’s and Mandarin Oriental, Munich. We are delight to hear that you have enjoyed your culinary experience at our restaurant and the service.
I am sorry to find out about the disturbance cause by the phone conversation and we apologize for the inconveniences caused.
We are looking forward to the opportunity of welcoming you again to our restaurant.
Best regards,
Clemens Heinrich
Food and Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Excellent dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

The Restaurant is located between ground and first floor and you can listen to a piano Player downstairs. The Dining room is modern, elegant Setting, enough distance between tables.
Service is professional, lighting dimmed. The Food is of excellent Quality. Combinations of food and seasonings are creative and absolutely satisfying.
The portions are not big, for us they were enough. Wine selection could be bigger- but you find certainly what is needed. Some extremely expensive bottles.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOMUCMunich, Manager at Restaurant Mark's at Mandarin Oriental, Munich, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear tucano,
We were delighted to hear about your experience at our Michelin Stared Mark’s Restaurant and would like to thank you for your positive and constructive comments. We highly appreciate receiving such a positive review from you.
It would be a great pleasure welcoming you again at Restaurant Mark’s.
Best regards,
Clemens Heinrich
Food and Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Top Contributor
271 reviews 271 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Exquisite food with incomparable service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

One of the best dinners ever. Extremely rich and creative dishes. Best Landei all carbonara I have had anywhere. Wonderful service and a great wine list. A wonderful experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOMUCMunich, Manager at Restaurant Mark's at Mandarin Oriental, Munich, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear SBF2,
Thank you so much for your lovely comments! Our head chef Simon Larese and the whole restaurant team are thrilled about receiving such a wonderful feedback. Reading such comments is always a pleasure, as is learning that you have enjoyed your time at our restaurant.
We hope to be welcoming you again soon at Restaurant Mark’s.
Best regards,
Clemens Heinrich
Food and Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Mark's at Mandarin Oriental, Munich also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Mark's at Mandarin Oriental, Munich, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.