We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tries to be upscale. Fails. Badly.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mangostin Asia

Mangostin Asia
Maria-Einsiedel-Str. 2 | 81379, 81379 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
+49 89 7232031
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #709 of 2,803 Restaurants in Munich
Cuisines: Seafood, Sushi, Asian, Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Description: The Mangostin tavern with its modern, authentic cuisine from the Far East. Located in an old villa in the city district Thalkirchen, near the Zoo, Mangostin is full of life, joy, exquisite delicacies from Thailand, Japan and Vietnam. In summer enjoy the short getaway feeling on the terrace and the adjacent garden: Mangostin Lounge Garden is a hip meeting place and with its cookshop, it is a casual interpretation of Munich's beer garden lifestyle.
USA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Tries to be upscale. Fails. Badly.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

This place is apparently one of the few "upscale" Asian (sort of Thai + Japanese) restaurants in Munich.
As far as price goes, they definitely live up to the high standard. The interior design is really very nice, too. Sadly, neither the food nor the service lived up to the high expectations when I visited.

The restaurant was near empty when we showed up, with a reservation, and there were two people standing in the entrance. The welcome was rushed and awkward, though: we were quickly rushed to a table in the middle of the room; nobody asked if they could check our coats. We were also not alerted to the fact that there were several different rooms including both individual dining and a buffet. PLEASE GREET YOUR VISITORS AND MAKE THEM FEEL WELCOME ALREADY INSTEAD OF RUSHING THEM TO THE WORST TABLE IN THE PLACE! I wanted to scream.

Once at the table the service was all right; the real problem, it quickly became apparent, was with the food! Tom Yam Gung was very sour and, aside from that, rather thin. The main courses, which did not arrive at the same time (there was even a warning about that in the menu so it seems a common occurrence), were bland at best, dry and inedible at their worst. Quite honestly I have had much better Thai food at the lunch cafeteria near my office that charged 20% of the price here.

I do realize that you pay for the ambience of the building, which is really nice. But with indifferent service and plainly bad food, I will just not go back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfram S, social media management at Mangostin Asia, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear "Qwery999", thank your leaving a review on your stay at our restaurant. We are quite irritated and sorry that you did not talk to us (complain) during your stay. Nobody accepts "..dry and inedible.." food in a restaurant without saying something to the service team. As you can tell from other reviews, something must have gone completely wrong during your stay. Our chef is well known throughout Europe (and outside) for his experience and work. It would have been a pleasure to fix any problems that may have occurred. Now, we can only apologize - and that does not really help you either. If you may ever come to see us again, please feel free to articulate anything that may help us to make your stay a pleasant one.
Best wishes and merry Christmas from the Mangostin Asia in Munich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    63
    25
    23
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Favorite Brunch in Munich”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

One of my favorite for brunch when I go to Munich. Great service, hospitality and nice variety of food for a good value. I love the sushi and the ambience. If you are in Munich a must go, especially for a Saturday or Sunday Brunch. Good for all occasion: with kids, special occasion, or just casual dining - you will not be disappointed. We also have celebrated special occasions at the Mangostin and they have made the occasion very special with their flexibility, service, and delicious variety of food. Children friendly. Gracias Sr. Peter y un cordial saludo

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfram S, social media management at Mangostin Asia, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear "rpsw11", thank you very much for your kind words recommending our restaurant. Best wishes and a merry christmas from all of us at the Mangostin Asia in Munich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Okay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

Dinner was fine, nothing spectacular but we were satisfied overall.
Ordered the steak and the lobster for dinner. The steak was a bit tough, and I did not find that the peanut sauce went with it. Had the tempura shrimp as a starter and was disappointed at the standard supermarket sweet chilli sauce that accompanied it as a dipping sauce.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfram S, social media management at Mangostin Asia, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear "m g", thank you very much for your review. If you see us again, please make sure to contact our staff if anything seems to discomfort you. It is our job to take care of reclamations of any sort.
Best wishes from the Mangostin Asia in Munich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Asian Food at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Friends of us invited us to this place knowing that we enjoy Asian food and we are thankful that they did.

The place is huge but the tables are placed well apart so you still have some intimacy. Service is oriental, extremely friendly and professional.

After Champagne for aperitif we all had sushi and sashimi as starter. There's an abundant choice and we took a bit of everything. All was af the best quality and as it should be.
As main course my wife had Jumbo shrimps and scallops - they were perfectly cooked and very tasteful
Myself I had the Kobe Beef which was as tender as possible and grilled to near perfection.
For white wine we had a New Zealand Sauvignon Blanc and as red we had an Argentinian Malbec. Both wines were wearth the price that was asked.

After dinner the owner came to say hello which I can always appreciate.

Know that you have to dig deep in your wallet for what you get but I was happy to do so after a stunning evening.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfram S, social media management at Mangostin Asia, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear "janil1", thank you very much for taking your time to leave such a friendly recommendation here on TripAdvisor. We are quite proud of our kitchen staff and will gladly forward your words to the team. Best wishes from the Mangostin Asia in Munich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“One of my favorites in Munich”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Love, love, love this place. I've been here several times and I am always impressed with the great service, atmosphere and food. We typically start with sushi and I had the shrimp/scallop grilled entree. The preparations are light and flavorful. The waiter also recommended a very good Austrian win to go with our food. A great break from traditional German food and as good as you'd get anywhere around the world.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfram S, social media management at Mangostin Asia, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear "Amy B", thank you very much for your kind words. We are very glad to meet your expectations.
Best wishes from the Mangostin in Munich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mangostin Asia also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Mangostin Asia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mangostin Asia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.