We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food service and view!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Glockenspiel

Cafe Glockenspiel
Marienplatz 28, Munich, Bavaria, Germany
089-264256
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #467 of 2,852 Restaurants in Munich
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Drinks, Coffee & Tea, Lunch, Dessert, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Drinks, Coffee & Tea, Lunch, Dessert, Late Night, Reservations
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic food service and view!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I have been to this restaurant for the last 2 years when I was at the Christmas markets. And went on both occasions!! I would recommend booking in advance so you don't have to que, just sent them an email and booked. Our table by the window was ready and our waiter could not have been more helpful even bringing us an English menu!!

Would recommend this restaurant in a heartbeat for its food and location. Nice to take a break and enjoy the view, food and service

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    129
    44
    17
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mangawhai, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A Great view of Rathaus and Manienplatz”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We had been recommended the place and it did not disappoint, We had both lunch and dinner at the café both times we enjoyed the food, the service and the view. The café is located on the fifth floor accessed via a lane at the back of the building. If you a claustrophobic you may want to avoid the very small access lift. We also recommend the place.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Good to have a cup of coffee and eat some cake with a good view of Marienplatz and the beautiful clock tower”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Good to have a cup of coffee and eat some cake with a good view of Marienplatz and the beautiful clock tower. There are plenty of cake choices, everyone can find one that they will like. Other than that it is very touristic, not the best place to taste local food, I guess.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Service - Reasonable Prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Great, healthy food in a clean, warm environment. The service was excellent. Best for breakfast. It is located on the 5th floor and is accessible by an elevator (on the south end of the Glockenspiel Square).

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

I have been there a couple of times for breakfast with friends. It's on the 5th floor opposite the Rathaus in Marienplatz, so it's a great central location. If you sit on the patio they also retract the roof so that you are sitting al fresco... lovely in spring and summer! The breakfast selection is great, with the choice from pre-selected menus to individual items (the French toast with bacon, maple syrup and fresh fruit is highly recommended!).

Unfortunately the view from the patio area is poor (just the back of some buildings) and the drinks are on the expensive side at 3 or 4€ for a coffee and orange juice... although this is pretty standard in Munich!

Advisable to book ahead, which is possible online through the website.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Glockenspiel also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Cafe Glockenspiel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Glockenspiel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.