We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommendable!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Geisel's Vinothek

Geisel's Vinothek
Schutzenstr. 11 (Hotel Excelsior) | 80335 Munich, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
+49 89 55137140
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #79 of 2,815 Restaurants in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $50
Cuisines: Italian, International, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Dieses Weinrestaurant und Weinbar im Herzen Munchens teilt mit seinen Gasten eine grosse Leidenschaft: die Begeisterung fur gutes Essen und ausgezeichnete Weine. Bis zu 20 Rebsorten im offenen Ausschank und rund 700 Flaschenweine aus aller Welt bieten eine Auswahl, bei der kein Wunsch unerfullt bleibt. Das gilt auch fur die Kulinarik: In Geisel's Vinothek weiss man mit hausgemachten Pasta, frisch geschnittenem San Daniele Schinken und den besten Gerichten aus der mediterran angehauchten, bayerischen Kuche zu uberzeugen. Gastgeber der Vinothek in Munchen Robert Zeller ist ubrigens dafur bekannt, unter den offenen Weinen stets eine Auswahl sehr hochkaratiger Tropfen bereit zu halten.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Recommendable!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

One of my favorite spots to eat in Munich. It's Always a pleasure to eat at Geisel's. Very reasonable prices for wonder food and wines. The staff is very professional and has wit. Will certainly return!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
socialex, Sales and Marketing Manager at Geisel's Vinothek, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear VB/JK,
Thank you for your wonderful review and the related positive feedback to our colleagues. I have already forwarded your note to the team. We are pleased to seeing you again soon. Warmest regards Julia Sprung and the team of Geisel´s Vinothek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    46
    12
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Relied on TA comments and were not disappointed. The place really deserves its top-ratings.

Visited on a Thursday evening, luckily with reservation, since by 8 pm all tables were reserved.

The food was delicious from starters to desserts. The amount of wines available was astonishing. Luckily the waiter was able to recommend us reasonably priced wines, which matched perfectly.

The service was fast, professional and friendly.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
socialex, Sales and Marketing Manager at Geisel's Vinothek, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear kariheikki,
Thank you for your very positive review. It is nice to hear that you were satisfied with our visit. We hope to seeing you again soon.
Best regards Julia Sprung and the team of Geisel´s Vinothek.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“The waiter felix went out of his way to accommodate our request”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

The waiter felix went out of his way to accommodate our request for the Black Reiseling. The starter plate and the Roast Beef dinner was great.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
socialex, Sales and Marketing Manager at Geisel's Vinothek, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear janicecalhoun, Thank you for your wonderful review and the related positive feedback especially to our colleague Felix. We have passed on your compliments. Hope to seeing you again soon. Best regards Julia Sprung and the team of Geisel´s Vinothek.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Lovely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

I had business lunch, the service was excellent, the steak was even better, I can highly recommend, you must try it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
socialex, Sales and Marketing Manager at Geisel's Vinothek, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Mark W, Thank you for your kind words. We appreciate that you have taken the time to share your thoughts with us and look forward to your next visit in the near future. Kindest regards Julia Sprung and the team of Geisel´s Vinothek.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We ate at this restaurant a couple of nights ago based on the reviews on this website and we were not disappointed. It was a refreshing change from the tyypical restaurants we ate at in the south. We loved the atmosphere......very cosy and warm. The restaurant is on the small side and adjoins a hotel, so make reservations. The menu is not large and has a lot of seafood, but the specials provide other options. I didn't like any of the appetizers and they were more than willing to put together a house salad for me. The portion sizes for the mains were not generous, but the quality more than made up for the not so large portion sizes. The wait staff were excellent......far better than any of our other experiences in Germany. They were attentive, friendly and helpful. Overall an excellent experience!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
socialex, Sales and Marketing Manager at Geisel's Vinothek, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Terri M, Thank you for taking the time to rate us here. Regarding such a great feedback is very motivational. It drives us to continue our efforts and aim meeting our guests´expectations. The next time you are in town we look forward to your visit. Warmest regards. Julia Sprung and the team of Geisel´s Vinothek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Geisel's Vinothek also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Geisel's Vinothek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Geisel's Vinothek, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.