We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Geisel's Vinothek

Geisel's Vinothek
Schutzenstr. 11 (Hotel Excelsior) | 80335 Munich, Munich, Bavaria, Germany
+49 89 55137140
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 2,716 restaurants in Munich
Price range: $13 - $60
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Our unique Vinothek restaurant celebrates Italian and Bavarian cuisine, for a blend of tastes and cultures. Our love of good food and good wine is apparent when you walk in our door. Our extensive and impressive wine list includes up to 20 wines by the glass, so you can enjoy wine samplings that reflect your specific tastes. Or discuss your preferences with our staff, all wine lovers themselves.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

Amazing selection of wines from all over the world. Staff is friendly, the service is great. I had lunch and dinner there on one day. I would come here again without a doubt.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    72
    36
    8
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Recommended by Friends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Thank you to the friends who told us to go to Geisel's Vinothek at the Hotel Excelsior. It isn't a large place and when we arrived at 20.00 on a Monday night it was packed out and we had to wait an hour for a table. But it was worth waiting and once seated everything was good. It smells like a proper restaurant, the staff are professional and attentive and the menu is reassuringly short and packed with tasty seasonal produce and German foodie things such as moenchsbaht (spelling may not be correct). We went twice: the venison and pork were good, the fish risotto was excellent and the beef special was an outstanding plate of tender rare beef. The wine list is very good even at the lower priced end. Puds looked excellent but we were full enough and worry about our weight. Prices were the same as the local cafes but this was much better value. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chappaqua, New York
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Snobby but good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Probably one of the better restaurants around but plan well ahead of when you want to eat there. It is rather small --so seating is limited.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Very nice restaurant, great food, delicious, good service, and as the name suggests, great wine selection.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downingtown, PA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great find in an unexpected place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

I found myself in Munich for a night before my flight back to the US. Luckily, I found this great restaurant near the Munich HBH. Food was fresh, delicious and well prepared. I enjoyed cheese plate and and prosciutto before having the penne. Service was prompt, friendly and enjoyable. Just what I was hoping for. If you need a hotel as well, don't miss the hotel upstairs Excelsior.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Geisel's Vinothek also viewed

 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Geisel's Vinothek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Geisel's Vinothek, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.