We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Snobby but good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Geisel's Vinothek

Geisel's Vinothek
Schutzenstr. 11 (Hotel Excelsior) | 80335 Munich, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
+49 89 55137140
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 2,922 Restaurants in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $51
Cuisines: Italian, International, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Dieses Weinrestaurant und Weinbar im Herzen Munchens teilt mit seinen Gasten eine grosse Leidenschaft: die Begeisterung fur gutes Essen und ausgezeichnete Weine. Bis zu 20 Rebsorten im offenen Ausschank und rund 700 Flaschenweine aus aller Welt bieten eine Auswahl, bei der kein Wunsch unerfullt bleibt. Das gilt auch fur die Kulinarik: In Geisel's Vinothek weiss man mit hausgemachten Pasta, frisch geschnittenem San Daniele Schinken und den besten Gerichten aus der mediterran angehauchten, bayerischen Kuche zu uberzeugen. Gastgeber der Vinothek in Munchen Robert Zeller ist ubrigens dafur bekannt, unter den offenen Weinen stets eine Auswahl sehr hochkaratiger Tropfen bereit zu halten.
Chappaqua, New York
Level Contributor
110 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Snobby but good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Probably one of the better restaurants around but plan well ahead of when you want to eat there. It is rather small --so seating is limited.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    48
    13
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Very nice restaurant, great food, delicious, good service, and as the name suggests, great wine selection.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downingtown, PA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great find in an unexpected place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

I found myself in Munich for a night before my flight back to the US. Luckily, I found this great restaurant near the Munich HBH. Food was fresh, delicious and well prepared. I enjoyed cheese plate and and prosciutto before having the penne. Service was prompt, friendly and enjoyable. Just what I was hoping for. If you need a hotel as well, don't miss the hotel upstairs Excelsior.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Delicious find.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We stumbled upon this restaurant not knowing the area very well. Unfortunately all the tables were booked but the waiter suggested that we could sit and even eat in the lobby area of the hotel. They quickly transformed the a few of the lobby tables of the Excelsior Hotel in to a dining area. The staff are ever so friendly and speak excellent english. The food was beautiful and well cooked, full of flavour and coed to order. Would definitely return, but would recommend booking in advance! lovely welcoming decor, a real treat.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
munich
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Not a place for an intimate dinner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Picked this place based on the good reviews in trip advisor and the great pictures on the website from Geisel's . Neither the website pictures or the reviews lived up to my expectations. The restaurant is relatively small and hence only ONE corner table in the place for two which was on this night occupied. We were seated in the middle of the room at a table (similar to the Hofbrauhaus) which could seat up to 14 people. Intimate conversation was out of the question as I could hear word for word the conversation between the couple seated beside us :-(
Due to this "fast food" atmosphere we declined the 3 course menu. We opted just for a main course which was good even if I was suprised the roast beef consisted of cold cuts. We skipped desert as were eager to leave and enjoy a glass of wine in a nearby more relaxed atmosphere.
All in all this could be a fun place to go in a large group maybe as after work ..but I for one have NO desire to return and would not recommend it. Munich has got a lot better to offer!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Geisel's Vinothek also viewed

 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Geisel's Vinothek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Geisel's Vinothek, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.