We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Geisel's Vinothek

Geisel's Vinothek
Schutzenstr. 11 (Hotel Excelsior) | 80335 Munich, Munich, Bavaria, Germany
+49 89 55137140
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 2,769 Restaurants in Munich
Price range: $13 - $57
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Our unique Vinothek restaurant celebrates Italian and Bavarian cuisine, for a blend of tastes and cultures. Our love of good food and good wine is apparent when you walk in our door. Our extensive and impressive wine list includes up to 20 wines by the glass, so you can enjoy wine samplings that reflect your specific tastes. Or discuss your preferences with our staff, all wine lovers themselves.
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Very nice restaurant, great food, delicious, good service, and as the name suggests, great wine selection.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    36
    8
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Downingtown, PA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great find in an unexpected place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

I found myself in Munich for a night before my flight back to the US. Luckily, I found this great restaurant near the Munich HBH. Food was fresh, delicious and well prepared. I enjoyed cheese plate and and prosciutto before having the penne. Service was prompt, friendly and enjoyable. Just what I was hoping for. If you need a hotel as well, don't miss the hotel upstairs Excelsior.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Delicious find.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We stumbled upon this restaurant not knowing the area very well. Unfortunately all the tables were booked but the waiter suggested that we could sit and even eat in the lobby area of the hotel. They quickly transformed the a few of the lobby tables of the Excelsior Hotel in to a dining area. The staff are ever so friendly and speak excellent english. The food was beautiful and well cooked, full of flavour and coed to order. Would definitely return, but would recommend booking in advance! lovely welcoming decor, a real treat.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
munich
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Not a place for an intimate dinner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Picked this place based on the good reviews in trip advisor and the great pictures on the website from Geisel's . Neither the website pictures or the reviews lived up to my expectations. The restaurant is relatively small and hence only ONE corner table in the place for two which was on this night occupied. We were seated in the middle of the room at a table (similar to the Hofbrauhaus) which could seat up to 14 people. Intimate conversation was out of the question as I could hear word for word the conversation between the couple seated beside us :-(
Due to this "fast food" atmosphere we declined the 3 course menu. We opted just for a main course which was good even if I was suprised the roast beef consisted of cold cuts. We skipped desert as were eager to leave and enjoy a glass of wine in a nearby more relaxed atmosphere.
All in all this could be a fun place to go in a large group maybe as after work ..but I for one have NO desire to return and would not recommend it. Munich has got a lot better to offer!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Out Islands
Top Contributor
540 reviews 540 reviews
242 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 191 cities Reviews in 191 cities
411 helpful votes 411 helpful votes
“Surprised on all criteria / do not get shocked by location visavis Karstadt!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

This is obviously not for beertrinkers, but while I expected top flight wine, and YES, the selection is huge!! I was really surprised by the quality of the food.

Enjoyed a great night out

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Geisel's Vinothek also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Geisel's Vinothek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Geisel's Vinothek, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.