We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious find.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Geisel's Vinothek

Geisel's Vinothek
Schutzenstr. 11 (Hotel Excelsior) | 80335 Munich, Munich, Bavaria, Germany
+49 89 55137140
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #19 of 2,629 restaurants in Munich
Price range: $14 - $62
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Our unique Vinothek restaurant celebrates Italian and Bavarian cuisine, for a blend of tastes and cultures. Our love of good food and good wine is apparent when you walk in our door. Our extensive and impressive wine list includes up to 20 wines by the glass, so you can enjoy wine samplings that reflect your specific tastes. Or discuss your preferences with our staff, all wine lovers themselves.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Delicious find.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We stumbled upon this restaurant not knowing the area very well. Unfortunately all the tables were booked but the waiter suggested that we could sit and even eat in the lobby area of the hotel. They quickly transformed the a few of the lobby tables of the Excelsior Hotel in to a dining area. The staff are ever so friendly and speak excellent english. The food was beautiful and well cooked, full of flavour and coed to order. Would definitely return, but would recommend booking in advance! lovely welcoming decor, a real treat.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    62
    30
    8
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
munich
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Not a place for an intimate dinner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Picked this place based on the good reviews in trip advisor and the great pictures on the website from Geisel's . Neither the website pictures or the reviews lived up to my expectations. The restaurant is relatively small and hence only ONE corner table in the place for two which was on this night occupied. We were seated in the middle of the room at a table (similar to the Hofbrauhaus) which could seat up to 14 people. Intimate conversation was out of the question as I could hear word for word the conversation between the couple seated beside us :-(
Due to this "fast food" atmosphere we declined the 3 course menu. We opted just for a main course which was good even if I was suprised the roast beef consisted of cold cuts. We skipped desert as were eager to leave and enjoy a glass of wine in a nearby more relaxed atmosphere.
All in all this could be a fun place to go in a large group maybe as after work ..but I for one have NO desire to return and would not recommend it. Munich has got a lot better to offer!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
471 reviews 471 reviews
208 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 173 cities Reviews in 173 cities
352 helpful votes 352 helpful votes
“Surprised on all criteria / do not get shocked by location visavis Karstadt!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

This is obviously not for beertrinkers, but while I expected top flight wine, and YES, the selection is huge!! I was really surprised by the quality of the food.

Enjoyed a great night out

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellence in an unlikely location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This place is part of the Excelsior Hotel, but open to anyone. It is small and the decor is certainly not fancy. But the food is truly excellent - down-to-earth, almost homely dishes but so well executed you immediately want to come back. The menu is not long and wisely achieves quality through focus, but the wine list is extensive and advice on it - as all service - is attentive and friendly. The place tends to be booked so do make a reservation before you go. Only drawback is the drab neighbourhood close to the main station.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puget Sound
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Small and Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

If one stands with the DB tracks at one's back, Schutzenstr is directly ahead and the Hotel Excelsior is a few doors down on the right. Geisel's Vinothek is on the ground floor of the Hotel.

It is a small room with a short menu, but what they offer they prepare and serve flawlessly. They have an English menu in addition to the German and might well have other languages also.

One of us had the lunch menu: Proscuito with olives followed by Pork shoulder and the other a simple pasta dish, penne all' arbiata. The penne was perfectly al dente and he sauce was hot in both senses. Both meals were quite good.

The bread had both a proper crust, chewy texture, and bits of olive. On request butter came and, without need of request, was replenished. The recommended Reisling was excellent and our only mistake was not getting more of it.

The service was with good humor, careful attention, and discretion. We were taken care of well, but our server was not intrusive. We were pleased and recommend the Vinothek.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Geisel's Vinothek also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Geisel's Vinothek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Geisel's Vinothek, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.