We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellence in an unlikely location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Geisel's Vinothek

Geisel's Vinothek
Schutzenstr. 11 (Hotel Excelsior) | 80335 Munich, Munich, Bavaria, Germany
+49 89 55137140
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #66 of 2,865 Restaurants in Munich
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $11 - $51
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Our unique Vinothek restaurant celebrates Italian and Bavarian cuisine, for a blend of tastes and cultures. Our love of good food and good wine is apparent when you walk in our door. Our extensive and impressive wine list includes up to 20 wines by the glass, so you can enjoy wine samplings that reflect your specific tastes. Or discuss your preferences with our staff, all wine lovers themselves.
Berlin
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellence in an unlikely location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This place is part of the Excelsior Hotel, but open to anyone. It is small and the decor is certainly not fancy. But the food is truly excellent - down-to-earth, almost homely dishes but so well executed you immediately want to come back. The menu is not long and wisely achieves quality through focus, but the wine list is extensive and advice on it - as all service - is attentive and friendly. The place tends to be booked so do make a reservation before you go. Only drawback is the drab neighbourhood close to the main station.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    42
    11
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Puget Sound
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Small and Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

If one stands with the DB tracks at one's back, Schutzenstr is directly ahead and the Hotel Excelsior is a few doors down on the right. Geisel's Vinothek is on the ground floor of the Hotel.

It is a small room with a short menu, but what they offer they prepare and serve flawlessly. They have an English menu in addition to the German and might well have other languages also.

One of us had the lunch menu: Proscuito with olives followed by Pork shoulder and the other a simple pasta dish, penne all' arbiata. The penne was perfectly al dente and he sauce was hot in both senses. Both meals were quite good.

The bread had both a proper crust, chewy texture, and bits of olive. On request butter came and, without need of request, was replenished. The recommended Reisling was excellent and our only mistake was not getting more of it.

The service was with good humor, careful attention, and discretion. We were taken care of well, but our server was not intrusive. We were pleased and recommend the Vinothek.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Cosy restaurant with great service and even better food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

As you might expect from the name, wine is a big deal to this restaurant and the choice is seemingly endless. They do have very reasonable wine by the glass, and the staff are knowledgeable and happy to help with recommendations. The food was absolutely delicious. I had duck for a main course, which was cooked perfectly, and had lots of lovely little accompaniments to make it a perfect meal. Located inside a hotel, you might miss it as you are walking along the street, but definitely look out for it, as it is well worth a visit. Two courses each for 4 people plus coffee, wine / beer and water was around 50 euros each including tip. Definitely worth the money!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“No sausage on menu - thank goodness”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We struggled to find somewhere to eat in munich that wasn't a burger joint or similar. We couldn't get booked into this restaurant on any of the three nights we were in the city but we were advised to book for the bar. It had the same menu as the restaurant. The staff were very attentive and it does have a very impressive wine list. Unfortunately, the menu is not so extensive and although we are not picky eaters we found only one item that we wanted to eat and when it came it was a bit lost on the plate.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Gourmet pure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Wow, this was absolutely the best dinner in a long time.great service and the ambience was great. The food was in world class. This place have a large selection of wine so be prepared.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Geisel's Vinothek also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Geisel's Vinothek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Geisel's Vinothek, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.