We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Options” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gast

Gast
4 Kellerstrasse, Munich, Bavaria, Germany
089 48098 2720
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,496 of 2,803 Restaurants in Munich
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Dessert, Late Night, Reservations
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Options”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We always stay at the nearby Holiday Inn when we come to Munich on business and this place is conveniently across the street. Everything I've tried there has been delicious and it is a welcome break from the traditional German food after you've been in country for a few days. The concept is a bit different. You get a plastic card when you enter, then you can go to different stations and order food which is freshly prepared just for you or to the bar for a drink. The place can get very crowded, especially when there is a performance scheduled upstairs. I've had delicious pizza, but my favorite is the Shrimp & Asparagus Thai Basil stir-fry with spaghetti noodles. Great place to come with a group or alone.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    30
    18
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenfield, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Gast Just Didn't Do It for Me”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

I guess I just don't like the concept...the self-service style eating was awkward to me and kind of a pain. We ate dinner here one night during our vacation in Munich. It was recommended by my brother-in-law who had taken a vacation in Munich in the past. I think the main draw of the restaurant for him may have been proximity because it is very near the Holiday Inn he was staying in.

Cooking was very slow and you waited in line until it was your turn to order and then you waited again until your food was cooked. I wanted to spend time with my husband and friend, but instead we all spent time in different lines. I thought the food was only so-so and nothing really special. I had a pasta dish with a vegetable and meat sauce, my husband had a pesto pasta dish and ordered a pizza, our friend ordered a pizza as well. It was just okay.

The cook-to-order aspect is nice. For instance, you can pick the type of pasta, sauce, and level of seasonings you want. The whole separate card issued for each person was not very relevant for us. We just put everything on one bill and one of us just pays. I can see it being important for people who want to eat together, but want separate bills.

I don't see myself returning here again if I am in Munich. The concept didn't appeal to me and the food was just average. Renovations were also taking place while we were eating dinner, which was quite odd. One station was completely closed and the other had plywood stacked up against part of the order area making it difficult to reach over and get your food once cooked. There were workers nailing and screwing things together while we were eating. It was strange and incovenient.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wow, besser als Vapiano!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

This place is like vapiano group resturants all over the world. You're given a card and you can order what you want pizza, salad, pasta, desert or other stuff. The food is mixed of Italian and Asian and I love this kind of food. It has indoor and outdoor areas. Very modern very nice place. I'd recommend for anyone whom seek a good resturant. I loved it

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fun, relaxed & cozy with great food, wine & beer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the Novotel, ideal location for the centre & Gast...we eat here every evening...the pizzas are devine especially if you like a thin base..the calzones are great too...the pasta dishes are so fresh & tasty..my favourite being the cannelloni...also ate from the Asian counter too..if you like Thai food, definitely go here- the do a great curries..I would highly recommend this place..it's ideas for a casual evening or formal, it suits all...an added bonus is you get to watch your food being cooked..

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford Surrey
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Italian - Asian cooked to order restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

This is an unusual restaurant concept, at least for me coming from London. When you go in you are given a card, an then go to different counters to order the food you want - this is charged to your card and you pay at the end. There is a good range of pastas and pizzas, and of stir fries - all prepared fresh to order.

The overall feel of the place is very modern with, wooden benches and tables, which may be reserved - and often are when there is a concert on at the nearby Gasteig.

I've eaten there several times and the food is good quality - I especially like the pizzas. My only complains would be they do not appear to sell salads as side orders, we I certianly couldn't find one, and it is a bit noisy. But overall it's a great informal venue with some lovely food at a decent price and such a wide range of cuisine there is something for everybody.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gast also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Gast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.