We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not as good anymore...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Gandl

Gandl
St. Anna Platz 1, 80538 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
+498929162525
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #457 of 2,864 Restaurants in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $34
Cuisines: Italian, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
1 review
“not as good anymore...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

whilst location is nice as it always has been, service has suffered and food combinations do not really hit the fence anymore. They are trying hard to differentiate foodwise, but a bit more down to earth would do better

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    25
    10
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Surprise find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Spotted this place while wandering past and decided to give it a go. Both inside and outside had a great old world feel - more like Paris than Munich (no offence Munich), we arrived early on Thursday evening and it was quite quiet yet by the time we left it was full capacity. There was a nice relaxed atmosphere and we felt comfortable taking a leisurely couple of hours over dinner. Staff were very friendly and professional. Great menu and good wine list. Food was of a very good standard and portion size was very good, starters were around £12-15 with mains up to £28 so not exactly inexpensive but compared to other restaurants with same prices in the Alt Stadt this was much better food, value and atmosphere.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Level Contributor
73 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Unassuming, but top nosh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

This restaurant needs to upgrade its appearance from the outside as looks more like a shop. Even inside many unusual features for a restaurant. However the service and food were excellent. Not the cheapest. For 2 of us, 130 euros for 3 courses with one bottle of wine. I'd certainly eat there again.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very Disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

The photo says it all. Had to ask for some sauce because it was so dry. Had to ask for salad which came eventually. Very disappointing evening in what should have been a beautiful family treat.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
123 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Very good restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

I went to Gandl because it was recommended by my hotel, and it was only 100 metres away, so I thought I wanted to try it.
However, due to Easter, it was closed most of the time. That was a bit impractical, but fortunately there are other restaurants in Munich.
I was there once where I had a sort of spaghetti bolognese which was very delicious - after that I had a coffee which I enjoyed also. All in all a very good meal, I liked the atmosphere, and service was in top.
I would like to go there another time.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gandl also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Gandl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gandl, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.