We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“depends what you order” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Buffet Kull

Buffet Kull
4 Marienstrasse, Munich, Bavaria, Germany
089 221 509
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #161 of 2,822 Restaurants in Munich
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“depends what you order”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

nice place but quite a mixed bag. had been out for a long day in the Alps so arrived back quite late and our hotel recommended this as it was very close by and part of the same group. its actually better than 3 star as it suited exactly what we needed. decent choice of food, nice atmsphere, very very good service. maybe a little pricey for what you get, particularly wine. i had a fillet steak perfectly cooked rare. also had beef carpaccio. no complaints with either. my friend had risotto starter. mistake! massive and too runny. wine list seemed overpriced for a bistro. probably 4* on he night but 3* if i was out any normal night. would return.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    24
    10
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
maastricht
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“great restaurant in Munich”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

a local recommended this place and I didn't regret it. not a buffet at all, but a nice Mediterranean style place. with great tasting food. I had the bouillabaisse as a starter and the dorade as main. it was all very good. avoid the wine and you'll eat a great value dinner. it's also in the center of town.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Much better than the name suggests!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

Excellent food, tried the veal which could have been more 'medium rare' but to be fair it was very tender still. My girlfriend had the halibut which was also delicious.

Service was excellent, atmosphere great, highly recommended.

Also don't be put off by the name which from a distance made me think it was going to be 'buffet' style, it's not, at all.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Was in town for business and a colleague suggested Buffet Kull. What a great recommendation. The wine list is incredibly reasonable (we had a Sancerre and a Cote du Rhone for combined 100 Euros) and compared to dining out in San Franciso or any other major city, I thought the pricing of the food was reasonable. I don't say this lightly, but my pork dish was perfect. One of the few times I have ever had a perfect dish: rosemary potatoes accompanied a beautifully seasoned medium rare Iberico pork tenderloin over an onion reduction sauce. The kicker was an inventive bunch of haricot vert wrapped in prosciutto.

Desserts were equal to the task--melted chocolate cake was good, but the apple tart and Austrian inspired crepe were spectacular finishes to the meal.

Service was extremely friendly and professional.

Only knock is that it was full and therefore the dining room was quite warm--make sure you make a reservation.

Great bistro atmosphere, reasonably priced, outstanding food. I'll return whenever I'm in Munich.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012 via mobile

Pricey, but worth it.
The service was fantastic, chairs vey comfortable, and ambience delightful.
I had tomatoes with date and olive confit, and my partner had oysters for entree. Then a magnificent risotto with chanterelles for main, and my partner had thick veal steak with chanterelles and potatioes cooked to perfection. For desserts marinated strawberries with cream. Along with wine, toal cost $85 euros. Fine meal, and worth evey cent.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buffet Kull also viewed

 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Buffet Kull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buffet Kull, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.