We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food service needs improvement” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Boettner's

Boettner's
Pfisterstr. 9, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
089-221-210
Improve this listing
Ranked #612 of 2,803 Restaurants in Munich
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Special occasions, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Peekskill, New York
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Excellent food service needs improvement”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We ate in a couple of 3 stars in San Sebastian on this trip and I have to say that the Chef at Boettners came pretty close to those lofty heights. We had the Aktions Menu, well priced at € 65 including well chosen wines. Alas, as compared to our last visit the service dragged on and on with interminable intervals between the courses, we don't like speed dining but this was way to slow. May be the "patron" who was surveying the scene with his dog (well trained) from the bar should have rolled up his shirt sleeves and helped in the kitchen. Reluctantly I rated this very good instead of average because of the high food quality but please improve your service.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    23
    8
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Winter Park, Florida
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Fine dining experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

The service was exemplary. The food was good regional and international. There is nothing other than that to say other than the price was astronomical.
Sometimes I think I'm glad I went there but I wouldn't go again. I left too much money there to be glad I went.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis Mn
Top Contributor
244 reviews 244 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
“Rude service spoiled a special evening”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Can a rude, impertinent waitress spoil an evening of fine dining? The answer is yes. It was my wife's birthday, and we were celebrating with friends from England who joined us in Munich. We selected Boettner’s restaurant because it was reported to have good atmosphere, food, and service. The atmosphere was lovely. The food was excellent with one major exception. The lobster in both the lobster cocktail and bisque, which should have been fresh and flakey, was chewy and rubbery.
In regard to the service, initially our waitress seemed a bit curt but we assumed she was just being overly organized. In preparation for the appetizers, the waitress handed my wife a salad/desert fork. My wife was disconcerted because she had ordered a lobster cocktail and was expecting a cocktail fork so she just placed the fork on the table without questioning the server. Immediately, the waitress said in a harsh voice “Left” Several moments of confusion followed and the waitress said “Left!” again in a louder voice. When my wife asked what she wanted, the waitress replied with the command, “Put the fork on the left side of the dinner fork!” My wife was embarrassed and offended by these instructions. In the past, she has taught etiquette classes and knows, full well, that silverware is placed on the table in order of usage.
The above incident, followed by further commands of “Madam, hand me your salad plate” and “Madam, hand me your small spoon,” put a damper on the evening for our party of four. It would seem, regardless of the circumstances, in any country, in any book of etiquette, rudeness is considered a far greater sin than a misplaced fork!
I have mixed feelings about rating the service as average. I would have given a lower rating except that one of the servers, a young woman, was very pleasant and friendly. To an extent, service is a matter of luck. If we had not had the rude waitress it would have been a pleasant evening.
On more mundane matters, Boettners is on a narrow side street just a five minute walk from Marienplatz, and not far from the famous Hofbraü Haus. The rubber (and expensive) lobster aside, our main dishes were excellent. Three of us had the Lamb Rücken and one the venison. Prices are high.
The date of our visit was September 6, 2012.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great lobster thermidor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

A highly recommended quaint restaurant in the city centre, my son and I were greeted warmly. We were going to sit outside, but opted for the comfort of the more formal, indoor seating. My son ordered the pea soup, and we both had the lobster thermidor. The staff were friendly, and the service was good.The meal was a little pricey, but very delicious.
The table beside us ordered the fixed menu with the wine pairings. I may have prefered that, although the lobster really was quite amazing. Overall i would recommend this restaurant: it has a great atmosphere, and is in a wonderful location. The restaurant is small however, I would recommend making a reservation.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Excellent - fine dining in lovely interior”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

This is an old established silver service restaurant with a small outside & a nice inside terrace. It is surrounded by Mr Schuhbeck's empire but a first rate choice for delicious food, a very good wine list/Champagne, very professional staff and a calm, upmarket interior with tables well spread out to have privacy. We can very highly recommend this place.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boettner's also viewed

 

Been to Boettner's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boettner's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.