We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool & Elegant - One of Munich's Best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bistro Terrine - CLOSED

Bistro Terrine
Amalienstrasse 89, 80799 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
089 / 28 17 80
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: European, Bar, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Elegant unique cuisine with the feel of a neighborhood bistro. A rare place for exquisite meals that are exceptional in taste and quality at a bargain.
Fort Pierce, Florida
Top Contributor
308 reviews 308 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
371 helpful votes 371 helpful votes
“Cool & Elegant - One of Munich's Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

I first visited Terrine some years ago when they were new on the Munich restaurant scene but were even then demonstrating the class and attention to details that have since earned them a Michelin star.

Originally called "Bistro Terrine," this wonderful little café/restaurant is hidden away in Schwabing and not always easy to find.

Nevertheless, it is well worth the effort and continues to get rave reviews and great ratings. The young staff is friendly and, even if you don't know a word of German, the menu is continental comprehensive, the creations original and perfect.

Wines, thanks to Christina Krenn, the adorable sommelier in the Blue Sneakers, are carefully selected and served with just the right touch of informality and class.

Everything that came out of the kitchen was perfect.

There remains a close business tie-in between Terrine and Tantris and this is certainly a positive thing, but each is an entirely different experience. While there are contrasts between the two, they represent a core level of attention to grand cuisine and service not usually found in any restaurant. I had dinner here on the night of my arrival after more than 24 hours of flying and train and then dinner the next night at Tantris and found both occasions to be grand in every way.

If you go, make and keep your reservations and have the address ready for your taxi driver, as they may not know exactly where this little gem is. By the way, it's right in the same courtyard group as Tantris' Chef Hans Haas' cooking school.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    10
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“A gem....once you've found it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

This restaurant was such a find...literally! It is up an alley but don't give up looking, it is totally worth the few minutes extra. What a fantastic meal! The sommelier gave us great advice with the wonderful wine selection, the food was stunning & beautifully plated. I had spring deer (don't judge me!) which was delicious & the dessert of basil ice cream, chocolate torte & raspberries was sublime. The restaurant staff are attentive without being annoying & the head waiter/sommelier friendly & helpful & spoke English. The restaurant is small but has a nice vibe & is stylishly decorated. We visited with Belgian friends & Belgians know good food & they were impressed! The prices were very reasonable for a meal of this calibre. Definitely returning.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great evening in bistro style”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Yes, you sit close to your neighbors but that actually was quite fun.

Staff pays super attention to all details of the evening.

The wine pairing has a great selection if whites and reds I would have never tried but were great.

What a wonderful evening, will be back soon

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Contemporary bistronomique cuisine in Munich!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

The chef change from Stüttgen to Sebastian Heil hasnt made the Terrine experience less intersting.
Cool Bistro classics like steak tartar, oysters or terrine if you are in a hurry and prefer to eat a la carte or the modern style chefs menu for. 85€ for 6 dishes, not expensive for Munich standards.
A hidden gem in Munichs boring culinary world.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“New Cook Has Better Control”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Before the new cook took over one could wait a good hour for the first course. No more, but perhaps because we were seven and had a pre-ordered menu. Still we arrived early (7:30p.m.) and didn't get out until 12:30. It was worth it though.

The amuse bouche was a little strange with flavours I could not identify. Then came two perfectly fried scallops in a light curry with a tiny banana. Next came a small piece of cod fillet sitting on a carrot cream with fennel – lovely, but then a strange celery flan thing came with clashing flavours that that I didn't understand, though everyone else found it wonderful.

The main course was a venison fillet with cumquats and beets, and a squirt of blood sausage, which sounded strange but tasted great, and the venison was cooked perfectly pink.

The dessert was another strange thing, chocolate and black olives. I am an adventurous eater and like strange combinations, but the amuse bouche ( a foamy truffle sauce with a hard piece of veggie under it) and the dessert were not just strange, but somehow the flavours did not harmonise for my taste.

The wine pairing was excellent. The sommeliere is a lady who really knows her stuff.

Get there early. Once it fills up the kitchen scrambles to keep up I have the feeling.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Terrine also viewed

 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bistro Terrine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.