We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible meal, one of the best of my life.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Austernkeller

Austernkeller
Stollbergstrasse 11, 80539 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
089 / 29 87 87
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #192 of 2,690 restaurants in Munich
Cuisines: French, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Iowa City, Iowa, United States
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Incredible meal, one of the best of my life.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

Birthday dinner with my wife and a great friend in Munich, this is one of the better meals that we've ever had. Incredible wine list, stellar seafood, amazing service. Bring a credit card with plenty of room, but prepare to be amazed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

74% Recommend
    32
    18
    11
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Munich resident recommended this”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

First time in Munich as it was for me? A Munich resident recommended this to me. Some would say this is gaudy and dungeon like (if what they want is sterile contemporary US confines, it is) I would say opulent and period relevant, not faux. If you visited "Residenz Schatzkammer" (recommended & near), go here for dinner & continue the period experience. They specialize in all things sea food. French Cuisine lite. (So this may not be the best choice if you're a heavy meat eater, but go anyway.). Staff is enjoyable, intimate and professional.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great traditional restaurant with excellent seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This is a memory restaurant. Families, businessmen, couples all find this place special. The decor is old german but so well done. The specialty of the house is seafood and they know how to prepare it well. The cold shellfish appetizer easily fed two with oysters, clams, cockles, shrimp, mussels. The dover sole and the special salmon were very good. The wines were well priced and the sylvaner I chose went well with the food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Average evening”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Had a midweek dinner at this restaurant with my wife and niece. Large dining room with a gaudy appearance. The lady who served us spoke excellent English and was friendly, knowledgeable and efficient. Baked oysters were poor quality and overcooked, scallops were good, foie gras was miniscule, sea bream reasonable and served with boiled vegetables of good quality. Dessert of Crepe Normandy was very average. Altogether a pleasant atmosphere with average food that lacked finesse. Euro 60 per head excluding drinks.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAINESVILLE
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Very Nice Seafood Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant was recommended to us by a bar tender at the Holiday Inn City Center. The atmosphere is very authentic and quite. First of all, we had a very good service and this lady is a seller. The food menu is very much seafood with a French cuisine style. I had a chance to taste the crawfish tail soup which was good, but would rate this below a good Texan gumbo. The crispy fried Mediterranean Sea bass was prepared just right. Taking the price out of the equation, this is an excellent restaurant and I would give a good recommendation.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Austernkeller also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Austernkeller? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Austernkeller, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.