We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best sea food restaurants.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Austernkeller

Austernkeller
Stollbergstrasse 11, 80539 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
089 / 29 87 87
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #192 of 2,748 Restaurants in Munich
Cuisines: French, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“One of the best sea food restaurants.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Comparable to the best places in Boston or NYC. Wide ranging menu, had escargot for appetizer and they were excellent. My wife and I had real Dover Sole and it was made to perfection. She had a German white wine and I had a beer. We love German whites. Service was excellent and both personable and personal made easier in that my wife speaks German with a Munich accent. We enjoyed the kitschy decor as it made the room less formal. As we were eating a local brought his lovely white dog in to dine with him. How civilized, we missed our two Shelties even more. It was our plan to return before we left but unfortunately we both came down with colds. I would go back in an instant and recommend this place as the best we ate in on our sixteen day trip. Reservations a must.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    19
    11
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
424 reviews 424 reviews
265 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
667 helpful votes 667 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Was certainly not impressed by the service or the choice of wines. The food was average and expensive. I don't mind paying high price for good food and service, here none was available, The decor is beautiful, tables are very close to each other.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Top Contributor
222 reviews 222 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Sorry... but I can't say that this is more than a good restaurant.
A bit kitsch design but with very good service.
The food was good but not more than that. And it was not cheap.
Nice to try, but don't expect to repeat.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon city
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Nice break from the usual Bavarian fare”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

After so many days of eating Bavarian food which is hearty and nice, we were looking forward to something smaller in portion and just different. Austerkeller was described to us as a seafood restaurant. It was a very nice surprise to see a completely different ambience. It's a little paris in Germany with the price tag to go with it. The food came in portions we were more used to and tasted fantastic. The seabass which was a special of the day was fresh and tasty. Better to get their specials on dessert rather than the creme brûlée which was rather bland. The chocolate mousse is to share portions.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A place for seafood lover”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

I couldn't describe the place as excellent, but deffinetly it is a good place for those who like oysters and lobsters. Even though they were out of oysters tonight (the waitress said that Saturday night was very busy), the lobster tasted the way it should.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Austernkeller also viewed

 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Austernkeller? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Austernkeller, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.