We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Austernkeller

Austernkeller
Stollbergstrasse 11, 80539 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
089 / 29 87 87
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #220 of 2,794 Restaurants in Munich
Cuisines: French, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Lisbon, Portugal
Top Contributor
240 reviews 240 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Sorry... but I can't say that this is more than a good restaurant.
A bit kitsch design but with very good service.
The food was good but not more than that. And it was not cheap.
Nice to try, but don't expect to repeat.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    22
    11
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quezon city
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Nice break from the usual Bavarian fare”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

After so many days of eating Bavarian food which is hearty and nice, we were looking forward to something smaller in portion and just different. Austerkeller was described to us as a seafood restaurant. It was a very nice surprise to see a completely different ambience. It's a little paris in Germany with the price tag to go with it. The food came in portions we were more used to and tasted fantastic. The seabass which was a special of the day was fresh and tasty. Better to get their specials on dessert rather than the creme brûlée which was rather bland. The chocolate mousse is to share portions.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A place for seafood lover”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

I couldn't describe the place as excellent, but deffinetly it is a good place for those who like oysters and lobsters. Even though they were out of oysters tonight (the waitress said that Saturday night was very busy), the lobster tasted the way it should.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Didn't like the food :-(”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Alas, my experience wasn't positive. Scallops as hot starter was overcooked so they lost both texture and special its special sweet taste. Fish (kind of sole) was ok but nothing more. Dessert also was very average - though it was supposed to be a crep a-la Normand - it was an ordinary pancake with apples (wheat floor, not buckwheat as needed) in a calvados puddle. Sniff-sniff, I definitely expected more. And that was rather costly. Only thing I liked was local wine.
So you either take raw seafood like oysters - or you'd better choose another place.
Interior was fine though it's in a basement. Service was also nice.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Wonderful Seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Our third visit to Austernkeller, but this time without the presence of Zubin Mehta! This is an old, terrific seafood restaurant in the heart of Munich. Oysters are redolent of ocean water and the salmon we had was perfect.

Carol

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Austernkeller also viewed

 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Austernkeller? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Austernkeller, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.