We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Seafood” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Austernkeller

Austernkeller
Stollbergstrasse 11, 80539 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
089 / 29 87 87
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #187 of 2,824 Restaurants in Munich
Cuisines: French, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Wonderful Seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Our third visit to Austernkeller, but this time without the presence of Zubin Mehta! This is an old, terrific seafood restaurant in the heart of Munich. Oysters are redolent of ocean water and the salmon we had was perfect.

Carol

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    23
    11
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisa
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Food is good. English menu. Waiter spoke excellent english and was very friendly. Beautiful building. We ate inside and glad we did, the place is beautiful.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehingen
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“if you like fruit de mer - a must”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

very romantic restaurant 5 minutes from the vier jahreszeiten,
mandarin oriental and opera hotel. perfect staff and very
good meals and wines at affordable prices.
reservation recommended

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“In a nutshell: Oysters”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

These are the best oysters I have found in Munich, including the variety.
In my view the fish is good but could be even better without some of the fish taste disguising additives.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good fish restaurant with acceptable value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

The restaurant. suggeste to us by the hotel concierge, has quite old-fashion style atmosphere, with a lot of things attached to the wall.. but at the end is quite nice.
Service was very attentive and very good: quick and thorough even if the restaurant was quite full. Our table was in a sort of separè, which was quite intimate.
The food was delicious: we had scallops and tuna tartare as starte, bot very good, and as a main the lobster was really well done and the dover sole was good and tasty.
The wine list is quite short, but is possible to find good classic wine, with decent price.
The prices are acceptable, definitely not a cheap restaurant but the overall quality is good.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Austernkeller also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Austernkeller? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Austernkeller, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.