We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent... Almost brilliant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Broeding

Broeding
Schulstrasse 9, 80634 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
+49 89 164238
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 2,868 Restaurants in Munich
Price range: $51 - $102
Cuisines: Diner, German, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: No freedom of choice - and that's a good thing. Manuel Reheis offers a wonderful menu every evening at the Broeding. As a gourmet all you have to do is to decide whether you want to go for the five or six course meal. Why not try out the fish menu which is offered on the first Wednesday of every month? There is a good selection of wine which comes mostly from Austria. The staff who are dressed in black are attentive and are good at what they do. The dining area has simple white tables, a green tiled bar, wooden furniture, warm lighting and bottles used as décor. In the summer sit out and enjoy the leafy courtyard.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Excellent... Almost brilliant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

We had booked online and it worked very well with even a request for outside seating in the garden.

We were served in a very friendly way and felt " at home".

The food was really delicious.

My advise for this restaurant : bring a big hunger with you and a lot of time to enjoy :)

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    233
    33
    9
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, FL
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, friendly service, fantastic Austrian wines!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

This ended up being one of our favorite restaurants in Germany. Far removed from the tourists, this is a place where the menu is hand written daily. Have full faith in your wait staff when selecting a wine to accompany your food. Every course is beautifully plated and tantalizes your taste buds. Order the 2009 Wieninger St. Laurent Bisamberg wine, which is akin to a new world pinot noir made in Vienna. I only wish I would have brought a case back with me!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hardwick, Vermont
1 review
“Amazing...not to be missed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

I visited Broeding alone while in town on business for a nice meal the night before flying home and boy was I not disappointed. I took advantage of the 6 course menu and found each dish, from the quail to the perch to the melon soup and beyond exceptional. Only negative was that I should have looked at the German menu as it had a wine pairing option missing from the English menu, so don't make that mistake if you speak German. As for the service, it was attentive and prompt. Worth every € penny.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“The worst #1 trip advisor restaurant ever”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

This is the first time that I got disappointed by a restaurant that is ranked #1 in trip advisor. The food is totally bland. The best thing I had was a cucumber soup.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
broeding, Sommelier at Broeding, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Heideier,

it's a real shame that you didn't like our food.

Your review unfortunatley is a little bit short, so
it is quite difficult for me to send you an adequate answer.

Most of our guests like our food since nearly 25 years,
but it is impossible for us to satisfy the requirements on taste
of ALL humans.

So I hope you had however a nice evening in our restaurant
with the wines and the mood (apart from the menu).

Best regards from Munich and perhaps
you will give us a second chance and we talk about the courses
straight after eating (if you again don't appreciate it).

Andreas Röhrich
Sommelier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“An absolute gem in Munich”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

This small restaurant locates a bit off the old town, required to take taxi to & fr. But it worthed all the trouble. Decoration is minimal but is very neat and cozy. Staff is very friendly. We had the tasting menu of 5 courses with the wine pairing as we were too full to take the cheese course. Each dish was prepared & cooked to perfection and came with surprises. The best dish was the eel which was very fresh, crunchy outside while the meat melt in the mouth. The staff are all very knowledgeable on the wine that paired with each dish well. We enjoyed our dinner to the fullest. The restaurant is an absolute gem in Munich at fairly reasonable price. reservation is a must.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Broeding also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Broeding? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Broeding, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.