We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Come here for food, not atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Broeding

Broeding
Schulstrasse 9, 80634 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
+49 89 164238
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 2,824 Restaurants in Munich
Price range: $51 - $102
Cuisines: Diner, German, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: No freedom of choice - and that's a good thing. Manuel Reheis offers a wonderful menu every evening at the Broeding. As a gourmet all you have to do is to decide whether you want to go for the five or six course meal. Why not try out the fish menu which is offered on the first Wednesday of every month? There is a good selection of wine which comes mostly from Austria. The staff who are dressed in black are attentive and are good at what they do. The dining area has simple white tables, a green tiled bar, wooden furniture, warm lighting and bottles used as décor. In the summer sit out and enjoy the leafy courtyard.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Come here for food, not atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

We were quite surprised when we visited this restaurant. It was almost just like walking straight into someone's front room. It is very small with extremely minimal décor to the point of being quite dull but that could just be personal taste. There is no background music and little to no atmosphere.

There were only a few other tables in when we visited and they seemed to be locals which is always a good sign. The menu changes every night and there is no choice - you are just served the tasting menu that is on offer that night which can be quite exciting. However, they will accommodate you if there is something on the menu that you really don't like and they did do this for one dish for us. The food was certainly tasty, adventurous and seasonal with standouts being a delicious spring lamb and a gorgeous rhubarb dessert. No complaints about the meal. However the overall "experience" did feel a little flat as there is no real atmosphere or special feel about the place despite the high price tag.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    31
    9
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Overrated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

This place is fine but certainly overrated, the restaurant is the brightest restaurant I have ever been to witch was the first thing we noticed and does not make for a cosy night.
We had the 6 course meal witch was up and down but nothing spectacular. The wine is really good but the waiter spilled it on my friends white shirt and on the tablecloth around every glass he pored. over all an average place with the price of a great place.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Awesome experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

We went there following previous review and we're not disappointed! We had the 6 course meal with wine pairing and would highly recommend this.
Each course tasted great and the portions were perfect to finish the meal full yet not stuffed. Each wine was explained by one of the chaps doing the service.
The service was laid back yet very attentive. The meal was the highlight of my weekend in
Munich. Will definitely return next time I travel to Munich

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing food, brilliant service but a bit pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

I ate here with 11 friends on a business trip to Munich after reading previous TA reviews. We went for the 6 course menu and and the recommended Austrian wine and it was all fantastic, but cost us well over €120 each with drinks.

The service was impeccable and if there was anything that people did not eat the chef would happily make something else (my friend who does not like fish was made sautéd rabits liver which was delicious!). This is great as it is a set menu which can put people off.

Overall it was one of the best meals I have ever had but even with over 6 courses (there were a couple of mini courses thrown in for free) I was not completely full and still not sure it was worth the price. I would recommend for a special occasion and for the overall experience but dont think I would go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

We ate here last night to make up for a dire birthday meal at a Munich "institution" - and this more than made up for it... The food was of such high quality, and dishes were not only put together exquisitely but they were original too. The wine pairings were beautiful and well thought out - and we loved the tales behind them that are delivered by friendly enthusiastic staff! Well worth a visit if you are in town (reservations essential!)...

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Broeding also viewed

 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Broeding? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Broeding, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.