We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Stay in Germany - Great Hotel Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Design Hotel Stadt Rosenheim

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Design Hotel Stadt Rosenheim to your Saves list
Design Hotel Stadt Rosenheim
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Orleansplatz 6a, 81667 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 380 Hotels in Munich
San Diego, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“First Stay in Germany - Great Hotel Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

I highly recommend this hotel. It checks all the necessary boxes

1. Price - offers several different price options based on room size. I got the studio room for 79 euros. Great deal, plenty big for one person.

2. Location - Hotel is literally a 1 minute walk from the Munich East (Ost) train station

3. Cleanliness - room was clean and neat

4. Breakfast - breakfast was reasonable and quite good

5. Service - I only talked with the desk attendant and hostess in restaurant. Both were pleasant and extremely helpful

My only complaint (and not really that) is the bathrooms in the room was very small. I believe I read they would be renovating these facilities, and if so, my rating will change to 5 star.

Room Tip: Room facing the park were nice - choose high floor for ultimate quietness
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    93
    12
    2
    0
See reviews for
17
84
21
65
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

This hotel was perfect for us! We were in Munich just two nights and wanted something easy to get to from the airport via the S-train (YES!); Comfortable (VERY!) Reasonable (Of Course!) AND it had a wonderful breakfast! We hope to return to Munich someday and will choose this hotel again.

Room Tip: The rooms not facing the street are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Excellent hotel and location for the city. My colleague who has not travelled to Germany much thought that the first contact with reception was bordering on rude. He had not realised that customer service is not in the German vocabulary. I myself have lived there and am more used to the level that is delivered. I liked the hotel, it is a very interesting building dating back to 1895. The room I had was recently decorated and was very nice. I had a room on the corner of the building overlooking the train station. I thought it might be noisy on a Saturday night but was pleasantly surprised it was not. The car park was difficult to find as it is across the main road under the post office. Having said that once found it was of reasonable size and well lit. Breakfast was good and well priced for a city location. The bar arrangements in reception were a good price and as efficient as you would expect. It has excellent links to public transport and is only a 10/15 minutes walk to Marienplatz. On the way you pass the Deutsches museum on the river Isar. I would stay at this hotel again and recommend it to friends. Munich is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Located next to Ostbanhof which provides a easy train ride to the airport, as well as Metro or Tram to the city center and to Marienplatz. A suitable description is 'funky' using various decade themes for the rooms. While very clean it is odd that our rooms has 2 sinks next to the bed and another in the bathroom. The floor is squeeky, tv is tiny, and the floor covered with an indoor/outdoor carpet...though very clean, and the wallpaper covers the ceiling as well.

With free water, snacks and wifi and excellent service this hotel provides a very good value.

Room Tip: Our courtyard view was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shanghai
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

The hotel is located in tranquil location near the munich east station. The hotel is right on the central square next to the train station with very easy access to the Munich airport.
nearby there are many shopping and eating facilities. The room is however a bit small. The area is very price reasonable.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, Spain
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Checked in on a Saturday for a one-night stay. Check in area was clean, process was quick. From the time I left the S-Bahn I was in my room in five minutes. Room was on the smaller size, but was clean and relatively well-equipped. Internet was fast and help up to viewing a MLB game piped in from the USA. Very cute touch with the bottle of water and gummy bears. Only disappointing feature was that my room was more generic than the pictures on the hotel website portray.

The hotel is on the corner of the Orleansplatz, with many restaurants and shops surrounding the area. I was fortunate in that the Spring festival was happening so walking out the hotel front door you could immerse yourself in the German culture with live music, drink, and food.

Breakfast in the morning was good, many choices available and the breads were made locally.

From the hotel to the Marienplatz walking is about 15 minutes. I highly recommend the route indicated in the welcome letter.

Room Tip: 1) From MUC, take the S8 to Ostbahnhof station. Exit. Hotel is right there. Easier than falling off...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelStadtRosenheim, Geschäftsführer at Design Hotel Stadt Rosenheim, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear GuyverlI,
thank you very much for your review. We are glad that you did enjoy your stay with us. If you tell us your desired room for your next stay, we will ensure that you get it. We are looking forward to seeing you again.
With kind regards, Wolfgang Schlicht, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

The location at the Ostbahnhof and beside the no.19 tram stop is absolutely perfect. This is a bed and breakfast hotel only , but that's not a problem as there are plenty of restaurants and bars very close by. We loved the design......clean , fresh , bright , minimalist, imaginative. There are rooms of different sizes....ours was 409.....a spacious double aspect room , so 309 and 209 are probably similar. It was very comfortable with an excellent bathroom. The large double glazed windows were very effective in blocking out traffic noise. Breakfast , served from 6.30 to 10.30 was excellent, with eggs, yoghurt, ham cheese , fresh and dried fruit, lovely bread, good coffee and a selection of teas. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. It was very good value indeed for such quality.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelStadtRosenheim, Geschäftsführer at Design Hotel Stadt Rosenheim, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear OTG26,
thank you very much for taking the time for such an extensive reveiw. We are delighted that you really enjoyed your stay and that we are among the well reviewed hotels of yours.
Thank you again and we are looking forward to a return.
With kind regards, Wolfgang Schlicht, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Design Hotel Stadt Rosenheim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Design Hotel Stadt Rosenheim

Address: Orleansplatz 6a, 81667 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 380 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Design Hotel Stadt Rosenheim 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Design Hotel Stadt Rosenheim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Design Hotel Stadt Rosenheim, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.