We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 nights in Munich” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Design Hotel Stadt Rosenheim

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Design Hotel Stadt Rosenheim to your Saves list
Design Hotel Stadt Rosenheim
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Orleansplatz 6a, 81667 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 380 Hotels in Munich
Belfast
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“5 nights in Munich”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I stayed here for five nights on a vacation to Munich September 2013, travelling solo.

I was on a budget so went for their basic room, which I found to be very good, and better than expected. The room itself was big enough, bigger than my own bedroom in fact, clean, basic and functional, but still with a degree of style. Mark Rothko print above the bed for example. I think the larger ones probably benefit from a bigger bathroom, but it wasn't an issue to me, and everything was spotlessly clean every day.

A nice touch was the little packet of gummy bears and bottle of water in theroom, which was always restocked every day.

Not being a huge fan of the European cold meat selections for breakfast, I found more than enough to get me started for the day in the breakfast area. Tea, great coffee! cereal (muesli & cornflakes) eggs (boiled or scrambled), toast, croissants, yoghurt, fruit, etc, and the selection of meats. The hotel also has a large fridge near the door where you can get soft drinks, and snack bars (free) or some alcoholic drinks (pay).

Staff were all very helpful, and you can also buy day tickets fro the U & S Bahn in reception.

The area around the hotel is pretty cool, residential but with lots of restaurants nearby.
There's an entrance to the station right outside the door, but to be honest I enjoyed walking around the area.

I would certainly stay there again without any hesitation.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    93
    12
    2
    0
See reviews for
17
84
21
65
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Llagostera, Spain
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I hate to reccomend places, because then next time it's more difficult to get a room, but I was here many years ago and it has improved so much! Just breakfast is somehow limited for average business travellers. Maybe for tourists it's not centric enough. Anyway, excellent attention and nice rooms for a fair price.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

The hotel was really good, and in the perfect location for travelling around Munich on the underground. The room was very comfortable and always cleaned beautifully. All members of staff we came across were courteous and helpful and could answer any questions we had. Our room on the fourth floor overlooked the main station and was therefore noisy through the night. The free soft drinks and snacks in Reception was very welcome. We would have loved tea/coffee facilities in the room, but perhaps we've just been spoiled in other hotels. The breakfast was adequate, but not necessarily for British tastes! However, we have no hesitation in recommending the hotel and would stay in it again if re-visiting the city.

Room Tip: For an additional cost we could have moved to a quieter room. However, ear plugs solved the problem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

This hotel is very close to the ost bahnhoff and perfect if you are catching a mainline train or want to explore the city as it is served by metro, trams and buses to the main sites of the city.

The hotel is modern and uniquely decorated, the rooms are good of good with comfortable beds and have nice bathrooms.

The breakfast is served in a lovely room full of natural light and the breakfast is simple and plentiful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

This is a fantastic hotel for the tourist. It's right opposite a major railway station and there is an escalator exit right outside the hotel door.
We actually drove to the hotel though-and you can pull up outside- drop off your bags- check in- then with a key provided- drive to a nearby secure car park (Cost 10 euros)
Reception was really friendly and helpful and there is free mini bar access at reception (soft drink, chips, peanuts and mars bars)
The hotel is really stylish and the stairwell,dining area and lounge are really well done.
Breakfast was very nice (10 euros a head )
The room is not big but adequate and the bed great. The bathroom is also small but the shower really good. I would suggest a safe and an extra pillow or two in the room.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Strongly recommend this hotel if you are staying in Munich. The entrance to the train station is just right outside the entrance of the hotel. Is just 3 stations away from Marienplatz. The hotel is stylish and beautifully decorated. The service is top notch, excellent!!! Room is always cleared up nicely and clean. Most importantly, there's free wifi in the room. Receptionist is very friendly and helpful. I would definitely go back there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We booked 2 rooms and requested that they should be on the quiet side of the hotel. When we checked in our rooms were on the street side of the hotel which was both noisy and hot. We switched to a lower price room on the quiet side. Whilst this was adequate it was not up to the standard of the refurbished rooms. If you use this hotel you need to specify a newly refurbished room on the inside courtyard. The hotel is very well located near the Ostbahnhof station for the excellent city travel system. The staff were very pleasant and helpful, particularly the lady at the breakfast room. The breakfast is good.

Room Tip: :Pick rooms on the interior courtyard side: cooler and quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Design Hotel Stadt Rosenheim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Design Hotel Stadt Rosenheim

Address: Orleansplatz 6a, 81667 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 380 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Design Hotel Stadt Rosenheim 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Design Hotel Stadt Rosenheim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Design Hotel Stadt Rosenheim, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.