We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots to love but not a great night's sleep” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cocoon Sendlinger Tor

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Cocoon Sendlinger Tor to your Saves list
Hotel Cocoon Sendlinger Tor
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Lindwurmstrasse 35, 80337 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #152 of 385 Hotels in Munich
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lots to love but not a great night's sleep”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We chose Cocoon for a one-night stopover in Munich. It couldn't have been much better located for a flying visit, just a few minutes walk from the central POIs.

First impressions were great - loved the stylish minimalist design of the room, and we had a balcony with an amazing view over the city.

Warning bells rang when we could hear a crying child in a nearby room as if it was in the same room. We took a gamble and didn't switch rooms as only smaller rooms were available. This was the wrong decision as we were woken at the crack of dawn by screaming child; and again by shouting on the street outside.

I'm not usually a light sleeper so it's fair to conclude that the walls are too thin to guarantee a decent night's sleep, and I was seriously regretting not bringing any earplugs.

There was also no cold water from the tap in our room - only hot - we had to go down to reception to fill our water flask.

Probably not a destination for pillow lovers - there were only two, and they were very small and thin.

So on the whole - wouldn't stay again; a shame as we'd liked the general style and ambience.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    138
    52
    10
    13
See reviews for
23
137
43
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

I think this hotel was designed by an architect on some mind-altering substances. It puts style (70s retro) before convenience or comfort. The bed frame has sharp edges and protrudes beyond the mattress at just the right height to catch shins. Try sitting on the loo with the door closed and watch your head. The "marble" floors on stairways and corridors had the most horrific stains that looked like organic matter. The shower had a mind of its own. But.....
Location was good, price reasonable, coffee (from reception) excellent. Vietnamese restaurant 4 doors down good value.
What decided me to give this place 5 stars though was the friendliness and unfailing good humour of the young reception staff. Nothing was too much trouble, they spoke excellent English and were always cheerful and laid back. On these grounds alone, we would recommend the place.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here several years ago, and rebooked for last weekend with no hesitation. The rooms are nicely done, they have a cunning layout, comfortable bed, great shower and Very clean. It's the little touches that set this hotel out from others, iPod docks (30pin), DVDs and player and of course the staff, they were always so cheery and helpful. Thank you.
The offer of no housekeeping for 1 day in return for 5 euro voucher at bar was another nice touch.
The only negative point was that the room was starting to show its age and would benefit from a little touch up and maintenance (notably fix the blind in #53)
Like the price/location/rooms/staff - so it would always be our 1st choice when staying in Munich.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ipswich
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Good, clean hotel at convenient location
Friendly, English speaking staff
comfortable room although a bit on the smaller side
free wi-fi which worked well
Having looked at previous reviews I was aware of their strange bathroom design. As I was travelling on my own, this wasn't an issue for me.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Pros:
1) Decent location for the price - about a 15min walk into the center (Marienplatz) or a 5min walk to the station and 1 stop on the train
2) Clean

Cons:
1) Standard room was tiny. There was actually no bathroom and instead 3 "wardrobe" spaces cut out of the wall with a sliding door covering one of these at a time. The spaces were toilet, sink, shower. In the toilet space you can barely sit down with the door closed. Taller than average people would struggle.
2) Noise. Hotel is on a busy road and there is a bar next door. At night smokers hang around outside the bar and are noisy. We were on the 3rd floor and it still disrupted our sleep. Also there is a fair amount of traffic noise (personally this doesn't bother me however)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

This hotel was very uniquely designed. Our room had a nice sunbed. The shower is a rain shower. Only funny thing is that it is see-through glass for the shower which was a little bit problematic for our group of girls. However, the hotel was great in all respects. I loved the couches. Location was very convenient.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel C, Manager at Hotel Cocoon Sendlinger Tor, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear hanado,

thank you very much for your feedback.
It is great to hear that you like our individual hotel style. For the next time, we have also different kind of rooms, in which a nice picture hide the glass.

We would love to welcome you back.
See you soon & stay cocooning!

Your team of Cocoon Hotels Munich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Cocoon is a little left field in its super modern interior but once you get used to that it's a functional and pleasant place to stay. With an unusual yet ingenuous all in one sliding door for the bathroom section, it makes good use of space and if a very comfortable hotel. The artwork in the room was again quite odd but these are the only things I can think to fault the place on. It was a great location for us, short walk to station and the staff were nice. And with such good room rates I would be checking in again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel C, Manager at Hotel Cocoon Sendlinger Tor, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Benjamin,

thank you very much for your good review.
We love to hear that you like our location and the friendlyness of our staff.

If you would like to have more modern and designed interior, we may recommend the new Hotel Cocoon Stachus. Please, have a look on it next time.

See you soon again & keep cocooning.
Your team of Cocoon Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Cocoon Sendlinger Tor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cocoon Sendlinger Tor

Address: Lindwurmstrasse 35, 80337 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #152 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Cocoon Sendlinger Tor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Cocoon Sendlinger Tor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocoon Hotel Munich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cocoon Sendlinger Tor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.